Here’s To: Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch

Snow Like Ashes (Snow Like Ashes #1) by Sara Raasch

Genre: Fantasy, Magic, Romance, YA

Pages: Hardcover, 422 pages

Published: Balzer + Bray, 14 Oct 2014

Source: Copy borrowed from a friend 


Snow Like Ashes (Snow Like Ashes #1)

 A heartbroken girl. A fierce warrior. A hero in the making.

Sixteen years ago the Kingdom of Winter was conquered and its citizens enslaved, leaving them without magic or a monarch. Now, the Winterians’ only hope for freedom is the eight survivors who managed to escape, and who have been waiting for the opportunity to steal back Winter’s magic and rebuild the kingdom ever since.

Orphaned as an infant during Winter’s defeat, Meira has lived her whole life as a refugee, raised by the Winterians’ general, Sir. Training to be a warrior—and desperately in love with her best friend, and future king, Mather — she would do anything to help her kingdom rise to power again.

So when scouts discover the location of the ancient locket that can restore Winter’s magic, Meira decides to go after it herself. Finally, she’s scaling towers, fighting enemy soldiers, and serving her kingdom just as she’s always dreamed she would. But the mission doesn’t go as planned, and Meira soon finds herself thrust into a world of evil magic and dangerous politics – and ultimately comes to realize that her destiny is not, never has been, her own.

Amazon || B&N || Kindle || Nook


sararaasch

Sara Raasch has known she was destined for bookish things since the age of five, when her friends had a lemonade stand and she tagged along to sell her hand-drawn picture books too. Not much has changed since then — her friends still cock concerned eyebrows when she attempts to draw things and her enthusiasm for the written word still drives her to extreme measures. Her debut YA fantasy, SNOW LIKE ASHES, the first in a trilogy, came out October 14, 2014 from Balzer + Bray. It does not feature her hand-drawn pictures.

Amazon || Facebook || Goodreads || Pinterest || Tumblr


review

    

#fangirl mode activate

A day and I’m still Mega fangirling over this!!

#brb fangirling

I’m not being useful.

composure

asdfgiuytrsxcvb

Kay, I was going to say something criticizing but I kinda forgot about it.

Erm,

Right. Her… Meira.
She’s uhm… a little bit. I dunno. The connection was there. Definitely there because I fell for Theron and Mather. Her attitude seems a little bit off to me. In a way I can’t clearly explain.

And yeah, it was pretty much cliche. The way things happened. Y’know what I’m saying.

Pretty much, yes, but when it comes down to it, SLA is different.The setting, the plot. Well, the characters were not new. Can’t say they’re really new but love them. 

And my one and only concern. The chakram. The description was very, uhm, vague. If my friend, (the one I mentioned on Twitter who’s name is basically Herod but with a J, whom I (and most of our friends) call Herodes, is right, then the weapon is none other than… the… erm… do you really wanna know? Because I really just can’t imagine it looking like that based on the little bits of description I got from the book. Seriously.

Let’s talk about the chakram in some place where nobody will get spoiled.

I love the fact that this wasn’t just about saving the kingdom, some fantasy adventure, falling for hot boys in the process, and all those. This is also about finding who you really are. That’s my favorite part about this. Most of the time, Meira had just been wondering how she could matter just for who she is. In that way, it was a lot easier for me to have a wonderful connection with her.

Warning everyone: Quotable quotes everywwhhhheerrrreee.

The way of writing is good. Really good. Sure, it gave a little tiny bit aura of middle-grade feel but it was fun that way.

The characters, I fell in love with everyone. Well, not with erm, the antagonists (because they’re good for antagonists. No, I didn’t hate them but they’re good) and not with Noam (even though I figured him out and the next few events a little bit earlier than anyone,even I, would really like.)

Oh Theron, Mather, fanningmyself

The setting, I love the setting! Though I wasn’t able to see it the way it was in the map but anyway.

Am I that bad with imagining things based on their description?

Annnyyyywaaaayyy,,, I just lovelovelove this book. Meira started off a little bit rocky and I can’t confidently say that she grew, she transformed. That’s like, the first thing when you want to create Fantasy. Metamorphosis. Even if it turns out pretty predictable. I would really like more from this. I’d say I expected something more. More original outcome and twist of events, but overall, A great debut Sara! (And heaps of thanks for following me on Twitter!)

asdfghjkl;'poiuytrszxcvbnmiu

Leave a Reply

