Here’s To: The Gift of Charms by Julia Suzuki

The Gift of Charms (The Land of Dragor #1) by Julia Suzuki

Genre: Fantasy, Fantasy, Dragons, Children’s, Middle Grade

Pages: Kindle Edition, 190 pages \\ Paperback, 288 pages

Published: John Blake Publishing, 4 September 2014

Source: eBook provided by the author in exchange for an honest review 


23571643The Gift of Charms (The Land of Dragor #1)

In a secret land, far away from the habitation of man, dwell the world’s remaining dragons — hoping the dragsaur beasts have vanished forever. In their mystical valley, they live their daily lives, but all is not well and their talents are fading. Things change, however, when, from a strange egg, Yoshiko is born – a dragon with a unique destiny. Great adventure lies ahead as many challenges must be overcome, leading to a dangerous mission to the human world in attempt to return to the clans their missing magic! Will the Land of Dragor have a new hero? Can Yoshiko make it in time?

Amazon \\ B&N \\ Kindle \\ TBD


 10978713_668053209984404_5777944647186126433_nJulia Suzuki is a British author of children’s literature. She is known for her unique style; threading together adventure and suspense in a magical, epic setting, with stories that are full beautiful messages. Julia’s works are nostalgic to the older reader, and exciting to the younger. Through her ability to touch the emotions, Julia climbs into the reader’s, soul bringing about excitement, hope and promise, as well as new ways of thinking.

I wanted to write books with universal appeal, books that were fantastical and ‘out there’ and yet still felt somehow real; to fulfil the expectations of book lovers and also hook non-readers back into reading. For me this had to be in the form of a series set in a place we would all be excited to visit – and so the Land of Dragor came to be.

Amazon \\ Twitter \\ Goodreads \\ Facebook  \\ Wattpad


review

 heart

The Gift of Charms is my very first dragon story. Ever. I know. Don’t judge me! It sure is different. Though I can say that the base story line is pretty much cliché. The usual: pathetic main character who turns out to be really special then wins at life at the end.

The writing was really fine.

ANDDDDDD PLEASEPLEASEPLEASEPLEASE tell me that this is not part of a series. It’s not, right? I like the way it ended. Happy and successful and everything.

Okay, after a few months, I’ve accepted that this is a part of a series. I’d really like to know what happens.

I guess this is more of a children – middle grade kinda book. Because really, the writing, the plot, the flow, the everything was so easy to understand. I’m guessing it was made for younger audiences.

IT IS MADE FOR YOUNGER AUDIENCES.

Deep down, The Gift of Charms talks about a very important thing: Accept who you are because everything happens for a reason. You never know when life will be good to you and show you the positive side so as for now, you have to be strong and hold on. And: magic is everywhere. You just have to have the right eyes to find it. Like look at this book. It’s filled with fantastic magic.

justlike

And honestly, this book has left me in an enchanted stance.

And I took a star (basically, half a star) out because:

  • I was upset that the dragons thought we’d kill them if we find them. One Yoshiko please. I’d love one.
  • I.., kinda fell asleep halfway… it’s probably me, but in my opinion, the story wasn’t thrilling enough. I don’t know, maybe it’s because of the cliché story line… But if I’m right and this is aimed towards younger audiences, then it’s great! (Never mind my sleeping because that’s pure me.)

Overall, I liked the story enough. It felt magical and seemed like a supernatural get-away. In case you just want a life so simple and filled with magnificent adventures. In case you need an escape from reality who’s beating you up, you’ll learn a thing or two in this book.

Leave a Reply

