Here’s To: Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor

Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor

Genre: Contemporary, Slice of life, Romance, Young Adult

Pages: Paperback, 400 pages

Published: 18 February 2014, HarperTeen

Source: Copy borrowed from a friend 


18053047

Maybe One Day

Zoe and her best friend, Olivia, have always had big plans for the future, none of which included Olivia getting sick. Still, Zoe is determined to put on a brave face and be positive for her friend. Even when she isn’t sure what to say.

Even when Olivia misses months of school.

Even when Zoe starts falling for Calvin, Olivia’s crush.

The one thing that keeps Zoe moving forward is knowing that Olivia will beat this, and everything will go back to the way it was before. It has to. Because the alternative is too terrifying for her to even imagine.

Amazon \\ B&N \\ Kindle \\ Kobo \\ Nook \\ TBD


melissa kantor

Melissa Kantor

Melissa on Maybe One Day:  “When I was in my twenties, my father was diagnosed with leukemia. I always wanted to write about what happened to him, but it took me two decades to write this book. I think I needed that time to figure out what I wanted to say.”

Melissa Kantor is the author of Maybe One Day; Confessions of a Not It Girl, an ALA Booklist Best Romance Novel for Youth; If I Have a Wicked Stepmother, Where’s My Prince?, a YALSA Teens Top Ten Pick; The Breakup Bible, an ALA Best Books for Young Adults nominee; Girlfriend Material, a Junior Library Guild selection; and The Darlings Are Forever and The Darlings in Love, a Junior Library Guild selection. She lives in Brooklyn, New York, with her family.

Amazon \\ Facebook \\ Goodreads \\ Twitter


review

 

Okay, let me tell you one thing though. Before you judge me for my rating. I reaaalllllyyyyy wanted to love this but.

And, just because I didn’t like the entire book, doesn’t mean I don’t appreciate the beauty of it. I actually found quotable quotes but sadly, I accidentally threw my paper along with my other junk papers. (I only realized it when I was looking for it to transfer it to my little notebook, but well…)

Oh, and another thing. (Haven’t you noticed that when I say one thing, I don’t really mean one thing?) I am still open for good book recommendations. I wrote this review back in somewhen in February, and really, I had a streak of I-didn’t-like books.

Here it goes:

Okay, maybe 2.5. Just to be good.

I was right, it was lame. Downright lame.

Okay, ugh.

ugh

Let’s make this as short as possible because haven’t you noticed? I’ve been giving lots of books 2 stars lately. This is weird. Throw me a good book.

Look, I kinda expected something from this. I don’t know what. But something else. Something, I don’t really know,

BUT

Annoying drama isn’t one of my expectations. Forced romance really isn’t either. Lame narrator isn’t either. The writing was barely tolerable. The start got me cringing. UGH.

ugheyeroll

The plot… Look, I really don’t get it when authors write about Cancer. Really. Why write about something depressing? I don’t get it. And the Christian bits didn’t help at all.

The friendship thing – which was what the book is supposedly to be about – was uhm, can I say, FORCED? I don’t know. Sometimes, it was so awful I kinda want to gag. I have no idea.

And seriously, Zoe is so annoying. I don’t like her. Not even a single bit. I liked Livvie more than her. Seriously.

plsruninfrontofabus

I liked her just a little bit more than I liked Zoe but even the name Livvie annoyed the living hell out of me. And even though Livvie was a little too perfect, she was a little more lovable than Zoe.

AND SOMEONE GENIUS, this just struck me – I DON’T GET THE TITLE. I DON’T GET THE COVER. HOW IS THAT RELATED TO THE BOOK???????! TELL ME.

Maybe the two stars were just because of the last pages. It was starting to be good by then.

Which is why I tell you, there’s absolutely no point in writing a book about Cancer, through the Cancer itself. It makes much more sense after.

And really, the book is just this lame, annoying wailing of Zoe.

AND REALLY, I DON’T KNOW HOW PEOPLE CAN ENJOY THIS. IT JUST ANNOYED ME. TELL ME HOW.

itwasallfuckedup

Leave a Reply

