Here’s To: Absent by Katie Williams

Absent by Katie Williams

Genre: Paranormal, Ghosts, Mystery, Death, Contemporary, Young Adult

Pages: Hardcover, 184 pages

Published: Chronicle Books, 21 May 2013

Source: Copy borrowed from a friend 


1405563646absent

Absent

When seventeen-year-old Paige dies in a freak fall from the roof during Physics class, her spirit is bound to the grounds of her high school. At least she has company: her fellow ghosts Evan and Brooke, who also died there. But when Paige hears the rumor that her death wasn’t an accident–that she supposedly jumped on purpose–she can’t bear it. Then Paige discovers something amazing. She can possess living people when they think of her, and she can make them do almost anything. Maybe, just maybe, she can get to the most popular girl in school and stop the rumours once and for all.

Amazon \\ B&N \\ Kindle \\ Kobo \\ Nook \\ TBD


katie williams

Katie Williams was born and raised in mid-Michigan. She earned her BA in English from the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor and her MFA in creative writing from the Michener Center at the University of Texas at Austin.

She currently lives, writes, and teaches (possibly in that order) in San Francisco, CA.

She also has a docile ragamuffin (more known as a cat) names Machine.

Amazon \\ Goodreads


review

  

Okay, this book still bums me. If you still don’t know (You probably don’t) I am a big mystery fan and that’s precisely why I excitedly asked for my friend to lend me this book. She has been bringing this book and trying to finish it for months already. She still haven’t, by the way.

I just, kind of, expected something more. Just. I don’t know.

This book ain’t all that but not nothing at all either. It’s fine in the most average way I can say.

Here we go:

Well, that was lame. And not what I expected.

One, it’s really short. If I didn’t have a headache, and so many distractions (aka stuff I need to do), I would’ve been able to finish it in an hour or less. It’s that short.

Two, it was fine. A normal kind of fine. The most average kind of fine.

The mystery, I kinda expected a little bit more from what I got. Actually, there was no real mystery. It was not that obvious but it was not unexpected either. If there was mystery, it was a teeny tiny part of the story.

I already figured it out because bluntly, you have to be blind and very dense and unobservant to not notice it.

The plot, I didn’t exactly read the plot, but it can be interesting.

The characters, well, Paige was pretty stupid (in all aspects of life). And Brooke was… I don’t know. I liked her just a little. And Evan, well, he’s fine. I liked him. In short, I didn’t have any concrete connection with them. They were who they were and it ends there.

Let’s see, overall, the story was pretty sped up. Like seriously. It didn’t give enough time for the characters to grow and the story to flow properly. The plot moved so fast right from nothing.

Everyone’s (them three ghosts) stories were interesting enough and the ending was one with the lame happy ever after. The lame kind.

But it was the fine kind of lame.

I can’t recommend this book to those who loves mystery, it was fine, don’t get your hopes high because I don’t want any of you to be disappointed with this.

Leave a Reply

