Here’s To: Edge of Disaster by A. M. Hargrove

Edge of Disaster (Edge #1) by A. M. Hargrove

Genre: Romance, New Adult, Adult, Contemporary, Drama, Abuse

Pages: Kindle Edition, 210 pages

Published: 19 December 2012, Self-published

Source: Owned 


17155022 

Edge of Disaster (Edge #1)

Alexia Hammond, broken and destroyed by a tragedy she can’t seem to recover from, is on a downward spiral toward destruction. A life of partying, alcohol, drugs and men has brought her near the edge of disaster. That is until one night while at work as a waitress in an upscale restaurant, she falls under the spell of one of her customers, Pearce Middleton. Once she gazes into his smoky gray eyes, her life takes on new meaning. But can she put her past behind her and allow herself to fall for the exciting and gorgeous Pearce, or will her lewd behaviour come back to haunt her and ruin her chances of happiness forever?

Amazon \\ B&N \\ Kindle STILL FREE!! \\ Kobo \\ Nook GET IT FOR .99!!


amhargrove A. M. Hargrove

One day, on her way home from work as a sales manager, A. M. Hargrove, realized her life was on fast forward and if she didn’t do something soon, it would quickly be too late to write that work of fiction she had been dreaming of her whole life. So, she rolled down the passenger window of her fabulous (not) company car and tossed out her leather briefcase. Luckily, the pedestrian in the direct line of fire was a dodge ball pro and had über quick reflexes enabling him to avoid getting bashed in the head. Feeling a tad guilty about the near miss, A. M. made a speedy turn down a deserted side street before tossing her crummy, outdated piece-of-you-know-what lap top out the window. She breathed a liberating sigh of relief, picked up her cell phone, called her boss and quit her job. Grinning, she made another call to her hubs and told him of her new adventure (after making sure his heart was beating properly again)

Amazon \\ Facebook \\ Goodreads \\ Pinterest \\ Twitter


review

typewriter typewriter heart

Looking back, the story wasn’t as bad as I made it sound on my review. While reviewing my review, (yes I do that) I saw that I am a little bit way too uhm, straightforward. I have no idea why my review for this book sounded like this. Maybe it was about the internet going against me or something, but I swear I can be better with words than this one.

But, the thing is, I actually still have the same points, so…

imchill

The Edge of Disaster is pretty much what the title says it is.

Alexia, seems to me, is always on the verge of self-destructing.
Pearce, on the other hand, came out of nowhere and claim his space by saying: I have always belonged here, long before you. In other words, he did not make any sense.

I mean, sure, I understand the both of them in some way, just the surface and their circumstances because really, that’s all you’ll get. And I like Pearce. A LOT, even though he did not make sense.

Am I making sense?

But honestly, the romance was barely there. I don’t know. At some point, they feel good, but most of the time, it felt forced. More like, the romance was overdone. Just. I. Can’t. Words make up a huge deal when it comes to love but expressing them too often will wear them out. Chill out bros. You love each other, you already know that, stop shoving it into each other’s faces every ten minutes.

onoyoudiidnt puke

The plot, was heavily underdeveloped. Alexia’s character didn’t grow so much. Pearce only had hints dropped about who can he be. Terri, Justin, Lisbeth, and everyone else I didn’t name were basically just names. I didn’t feel enough of the friendship.Though I liked Lisbeth. A lot.

The book was a lot like fireworks.
First was excitement, then it builds up but you won’t really feel it then it explodes into something pretty and everything is just alive but then it fades.

fireworks

The characters were pretty much cliche.

The plot could have been interesting, if told in a better manner. Not that the writing was bad, because it was not. It was good, but not good enough to make the characters feel alive all the time. Sure, there were grammatical sins here and there – speling, grammar, those kinds of stuff, but it was good. Just needs a little bit more of proof editing.

ughno

It touched a few sensitive topics that I’d really not go into, simply because I’m not a fan of those topics, and I have immeasurable respect for people who write about those topics. Which means I have that kind of respect for AM.

nods

In the end, happily ever after, bla bla bla, la di da, but then it left questions. About all of them. I’ll see if I’ll give the next book a try because I liked Terrie, (because she has a head between her shoulders) and Justin fine, and the way their relationship in the end intrigues me.

Leave a Reply

