Here’s To: Eve & Adam by Katherine Applegate & Michael Grant

Eve & Adam by Katherine Applegate and Michael Grant

Genre: Contemporary, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult

Pages: Hardcover, 291 pages

Published: 2 October 2012, Feiwel & Friends

Source: Owned 


9780312583514 Eve & Adam

And girl created boy…

In the beginning, there was an apple—

And then there was a car crash, a horrible injury, and a hospital. But before Evening Spiker’s head clears a strange boy named Solo is rushing her to her mother’s research facility. There, under the best care available, Eve is left alone to heal.

Just when Eve thinks she will die—not from her injuries, but from boredom—her mother gives her a special project: Create the perfect boy.

Using an amazingly detailed simulation, Eve starts building a boy from the ground up. Eve is creating Adam. And he will be just perfect… won’t he?

Amazon \\ B&N \\ Kindle \\ Kobo \\ Nook \\ TBD


applegate grant

KA and MG have been married for thirty-six years (maybe 37 but still [!!!!]) with a son and an adopted daughter from China. They have written the Animorphs series.

katherine applegate

Katherine Applegate

Applegate was born in Michigan in 1956. Since then she has lived in Texas, Florida, California, Minnesota, Illinois, North Carolina, and after living in Pelago, Italy for a year, she has moved back to Southern California. Following the end of Animorphs, Applegate took three years off. She is back at work and has written a picture book called “The Buffalo Storm,” a middle reader novel called “Home of the Brave,” and an early chapters series “Roscoe Riley Rules” with Harper Collins. Her book “Home of the Brave” has won the SCBWI Golden Kite Award, the Bank Street 2008 Josette Frank Award, and is a Judy Lopez Memorial Award honor book.

 Goodreads \\ Twitter

michael grant

Michael Grant

I hope you’ll give my books a try. If you don’t like one, that’s cool, I don’t like every book I read, either. But maybe give them a try. People seem to like them.

His long list of previous occupations includes: law librarian, cartoonist, bowling alley mechanic, restaurant reviewer, waiter, documentary film producer and political media consultant. Grant and Applegate have co-authored more than 100 books, including the massive hit series Animorphs. Grant went on to write The New York Times and international bestselling series, GONE. His BZRK series takes participants on a roller-coaster ride across print and digital venues. His latest series, MESSENGER OF FEAR, is a morality tale, though since it’s written by Michael, the morality may be quite muddy at times.

Amazon \\ Facebook \\ Goodreads \\ Twitter


BONUS!

Everyone, keep in mind, that this prequel is FREE everywhere.

18899602

Eve & Adam #0.5 : Love Sucks and Then You Die 

Fifteen-year-old E.V. (Evening) doesn’t know where she fits in to the universe. After a particularly disastrous school dance experience, she’s begins to wonder if she fits in at all. She did bloody the school heartthrob’s nose and all because he tried to kiss her. Having been accused of being a “frigid bitch,” E.V. begins to question her place in the cosmic world of relationships and dating to little avail; her CEO mother is emotionally unavailable, her dad is dead, and her best friend thinks true love exists in the back seat of a used Honda. But then E.V. spots someone, a blip on her otherwise indifferent radar that suggests there just might be someone out there for her…

Amazon \\ B&N \\ iBooks \\ Kobo


nn1

OMG A NEW SEGMENT!

Hi! I should create something like an introduction and maybe a mascot but I suck at drawing to get my point across but…

Anyway, this is to give you short warnings about stuff. In this case right now, I’m going to talk about Love Sucks and Then You Die. So, you see, not to ruin anything or whatever…

This free thing is literally 36% prequel novella, 58% Eve & Adam chapters. The last 6% is consisted of the Q&A, and then the other stuff you can always find at the end of a book.

A lot of reviews on Goodreads said that this is a really weird and well, useless, not worth a try kind of book but I think they’re missing the point.

True, the whole prequel novella is short, boring compared to the novel but it is somewhat fun. PLUS, there were cameos of the other characters here!! I mean, SOLO!!!

Anyway, here’s one question & answer that I really liked:

If you were stranded on a desert island, who would you want for company?

MG: Katherine, of course.
KA: He is so well-trained. I’d like a slightly younger Sean Connery.
MG: Oh, well, if we’re going that way, then I’d want Sofia Vergara. Take that.

They’re funny, omygosh. Michael’s first answer though. (!!!!!!!!)


 review

forevergif

I have written an on-point review on Goodreads. 

I haven’t felt like that for years.

Phew.

I honestly have no idea how to rate this or what to say about this. I told you I stopped at 36% and that’s also where the novella ends. The rest are chapters from Eve&Adam plus a bonus Q&A with the authors

Anyway, with regards to the novella part, the prologue kind of thing, it was, I have no idea. Seriously. I don’t even get the title. There were cameos from the characters that one would meet in Eve&Adam and that’s basically it.

But I loved the Q&A. Maybe you can even say that i enjoyed that more than I actually enjoyed the whole prologue thing.

One thing got me though:

It’s depressing, is all. The irrelevance of everything. Of us. We’re all just blips. Grains of sand on a massive beach.


review

typewriter typewriter typewriter typewriter typewriter

Every single time I think of this book, all I can think of is that line. That one line. I mean, if I want to keep this spoiler free-

“But look at him!” Solo urges. “I’m totally straight but I’d do him.”
“Thanks,” Adam says.
“You want me over him?” Solo asks. “Are you nuts?”
“Apparently,” I say.

YOU: spoilgif

ME: letitgoogif

ANYWAY.

icantgif

I’ll go straight to the point: It’s science, my dear.

I love the science parts.
Evening is pretty… self-absorbed.
The story was quite short and fast and almost nothing happened half of the time.
It was advanced science.
Solo is hot. Adam is hot. And darn if Aislyn wasn’t stupid before Adam came into the picture.
I told you Evening is mildly annoying because she is self-centred.
The mother, well, I like her. And I love the relationship development with her mother!
It was sometimes funny.
It was all honestly predictable and actually a cliché – down to the characters and everything.
BUT I LOVE IT.

The writing was good. Totally nailed the I-know-myself,-you-don’t-and-you’re-lower-than-me,-so,-oh,-wait,-I-kinda-look-stupid-but-that’s-okay-because-I-am-not. personality.

Don’t you even dare tell me that Evening is not supposed to be like that because she is like that.

B_FsS6yXEAAMKsWgif

Oh wait, this is supposed to have a Frozen themed gif filled review.

The pace of the story went in a pretty stable but not all that exciting.

And by the way, Solo is M. I. N. E!!!

Come on guys, give him to me.

meltingforgif

When it comes down to it, it was all predictable, occasionally funny, and has cute characters. Everyone was pretty much adorable with a sweet exception for Evening because of her attitude, but trust me when I say that she’s honestly okay.

It’s like one of those best friends that you have but that person just have this strong air of misplaced self-confidence which is pretty annoying but that person is your best friend and you just love that person so…

That made sense, didn’t it?

Overall, it was fascinating if not somewhat scary.

And honey, it’s all about Science.

Leave a Reply

