Here’s To: Miss Fortune Cookie by Lauren Bjorkman

Miss Fortune Cookie by Lauren Bjorkman

Genre: Contemporary, Humor, Romance, Slice of Life, Young Adult

Pages: Hardcover, 279 pages

Published: 13 November 2012, Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

Source: Owned 


7120131 Miss Fortune Cookie

Meet Erin. Smart student, great daughter, better friend. Secretly the mastermind behind the popular advice blog Miss Fortune Cookie. Totally unaware that her carefully constructed life is about to get crazy.

It all begins when her ex-best friend sends a letter to her blog—and then acts on her advice. Erin’s efforts to undo the mess will plunge her into adventure, minor felonies, and possibly her very first romance.

What’s a likely fortune for someone no longer completely in control of her fate? Hopefully nothing like: You will become a crispy noodle in the salad of life.

Amazon \\ B&N \\ Kindle \\ Kobo \\ Nook \\ TBD


lauren bjorkman Lauren Bjorkman 

I love books with multi-faceted, intriguing characters. The best one make me laugh, cry, and turn the pages long past my bed time.

Lauren Bjorkman is the author of the award-winning young adult novel My Invented Life,Henry Holt, 2009.She grew up on a sailboat, sharing the tinyforecastle with her sister and the sail bags.The voyage started in California and endedin Argentina. During that time, she kept upwith school through a program called Calvertout of Maryland. Her dad read stories to her and her sister at night by the light of akerosene lamp.She now lives in Taos, New Mexico with her husband and two sons.

Amazon \\ Facebook \\ Goodreads \\ Twitter


BONUS!

Have you ever seen the Dear Miss Fortune Cookie website?

I wish Ms. Lauren, erm, Erin is still running it but well, it’s been more than a year since the last entry. Because you know, it would be fun if it’s still going. But you know, she might actually be busy with dmbnkbzoeHarvardmzoge

It’s really fun writing spoilers.

VISIT THE SITE! 

It’s really cute! I mean, this blog’s very first theme is the same as the theme as Erin is using. Cute! Except that I somehow managed to change the colour to gold but when I tried that again, I couldn’t so I just changed the whole theme… Sorry for the awkward story…

review

typewriter typewriter typewriter typewriter

I just realised that my review on Goodreads still says:

HOLY HELL.

I am literally graduating in less than twelve hours. I’M FREAKING OUT.

I’ll write up n the review later.

Because that’s like, a more than a month ago already – damn it. Get over it.

letitgoogif

Plus, I remember writing up a review for this book. What happened to that? Crap, I don’t even remember what I wrote.

*sigh*

Anywaaayyyy. Here I’ll go.

The book was quirky. I think that’s the best word that’ll describe the book.

happydance6gif

The characters, on the other hand, lack a little bit of depth. I have no idea, it was like, listening to a story and all you can think about was: seriously? Such a person exists? – not because the characters were unreal but because, they lacked that alive factor.

Well, for me anyway.

And it’s not like it went through the whole book. There were times when everyone was just alive and kicking. Especially in the end. I’d say that the characters grew from blah to yay. They grew, and I loved the characters’ development.

My favourite one is that little kid – Lincoln. He’s the realest thing in there. He’s the spark that keeps the fire going.

On the other hand, let’s talk about the plot. It was surely something new. I love the plot. I mean, everybody has a secret, worries, and all but I just have never read anything like this.

Plus, the Chinese twist! I love that.

But then, as much as it was sweet and loving, it kinda happened all so fast. I wasn’t sure of their feelings at all. But it was sweet.

Next, the quotes. The quotes, I swear. My copy is filled with sticky note flags. There are just a lot! And not to mention, they’re fun.

The writing was great. The words held the depth that the characters as themselves lacked. I love how she used different metaphors as she gave advice.

This book tells us that everything, one way or another, are connected. So no matter how hard you try to hide that little secret of yours, it’ll get out in due time.

Overall, the story was unique, humorous, stupidly sweet, and real. It was a lovely story of friendship, truth, family, and just all kinds of relationships. In case you’re feeling down and confused about almost everything and nothing in your life, give this book a try!

happydance3gif

Leave a Reply

