Stop, Look, Read On: Roxy by Stevie J. Cole BOOK TOUR + REVIEW!!

Roxy Banner

Roxy (Pandemic Sorrow #3) by Stevie J. Cole

Genre: Contemporary, Dark, Drama, Music, New Adult, Romance

Published: 7 April 2015

Review source: eARC provided in exchange for an honest review

Book tour: 11 May – 15 May 2015

Hosted by: SBB Promotions 


Roxy Full Cover

Roxy Cover Roxy (Pandemic Sorrow #3)

My life had been no fairy tale. Actually, growing up, it had been something more like a nightmare, which is why I ended up so hard. When you don’t want to hurt having the ability to be numb is your best defense mechanism. And for a long time all I was doing was existing.

Jag Steele, the lead singer of the international rock band Pandemic Sorrow, was the epitome of everything I despised: arrogant, entitled, but the thing I hated most about him was that he was an addict. Drugs had been the demon that had ruined everything in my life, and anyone who had a love affair with them pretty much made my stomach turn. It brought up memories I wanted to stay buried. Needless to say, I wasn’t exactly a fan of Jag.

Funny thing is, people aren’t always who you expect them to be. Never in a million years would I have thought the night I meet Jag would have any significance on the rest of my life, but it did.

I found out that sometimes something that screams utter destruction might actually be your saving grace.

Some people may say our story is too screwed up to be a romance, but for two broken people, we made the pieces fit together perfectly.

Amazon AU \\ CA \\ UK \\ US


cole Stevie J. Cole

Writing is like therapy. There is nothing else that I can lose myself in the way I can a book – the way a well written story can take you away from reality and leave you in a dazed state once you’ve finished… that is unbelievable. I can only hope that whoever reads my work will be sucked into the little world I’ve created on the pages.

I grew up in the southern United States, and am still stuck here. The basics: I’m eccentric, I’m slightly obsessive, and I’ve been called a pervert. I love writing because it is nothing short of a magic trick. It pulls someone else into your mind and holds them there. Fair warning: my mind is pretty twisted, so watch out.

Amazon \\Goodreads \\ Facebook


review

typewriter typewriter typewriter typewriter heart

WOW. That was. WOW. Like, OMG. just. OMG.

 takesoffglassesgif

I had no idea that this is part of a series and now I’m dying to read the other books in the series. Especially Rush. Because who wouldn’t want to read Rush?!

Okay, first, I want to highlight the whole book. I actually literally highlighted the whole first chapter. No judging, please. BUT PLEASE. The. Whole. Chapter.

I don’t think I have ever read an opening chapter like that. WOW.

Okay, I’d trim my ramblings and move straight to the point.

From these books I have read where music and fame and tours are involved, I have gathered that musicians in love can’t go out on a tour without the help of drugs.

And they have the tendency to OD due to depression.

From start to finish, I couldn’t stop reading.

Yes, this book is not all light, rainbows, and unicorns. It’s real hard life. And I love that.

The main characters, physically were a too perfect. I’m not up for that. Their soul is alive and burning. I love that.

The flow went on a good pace. Sure, it may have happened all too fast but it just felt right. Reading the whole story was a crazy ride. We go high and high then we fall down. It’s insane. The storyline itself is a cliche but there’s something about the details that makes this a good read. Most of the time, it felt like a more elaborate explanation of a story by someone else but the flying, the crashing, the soaring through – they were there.

The writing – I love the writing. Stevie’s writing, as I said, felt like a retelling. It was like listening to someone retell this and that story in their life but somehow you can see yourself in the story.

I did found minor grammatical and typographical errors and I sure hope that those things were remedied for the finished copy.

Warning: Quotable quotes EVERYWHERE.

wipeseyesgif

Overall, this book is dramatic and dark. It did not went as dark as I was thinking when I started it but it did went through. The romance was fast, passionate, hot, too perfect, messy, and dramatic. Everyone tries to hide something from the most important person in his/her life. And there’s no such thing as secret never revealed. This story stretched out not only to the impossible romance but also to family and friends. Sometimes, there are some things that you can only do as a friend. Sometimes, the thing that you’re frantically trying to escape is the one that might save you from the chaos. And love is a dangerous game. This is a wonderful, heart-aching novel. If you really love someone, you’ll go to hell and back thrice if you need to just to be with that person. Roxy told a story like that.

This is not the kind of book you’d like to read if you’re not in the mood for a dark and depressed aura. Nevertheless, I say that you give the book a try. It ended beautifully and great things sometimes happen from the worst things.


OTHER BOOKS IN THE SERIES:

Jag Cover  Pandemic Sorrow #1: Jag

“My name’s Jag Steele. I’m the lead singer and guitarist to the band Pandemic Sorrow, and I have a drug problem. Well, I mean it’s not really a problem – unless you count the fact that I almost made my heart explode from all the blow I shoved up my nose a few weeks back…”

That was my introduction during my first stint in rehab. I’m messed up. If you asked anybody who I am there’s a list they will go down: Famous, rock star, legend, drug addict, womanizing man-whore, but if you asked me, I wouldn’t have the first idea of what to say, because I don’t know who Jag Steele is. Really, I’m living every other damn person’s dream, and all I want is reality.

Amazon UK \\ US


Rush Cover Pandemic Sorrow #2 : Rush

Sex is all I need.

I don’t need love.

But for some reason I want her. For some reason I can’t get her out of my mind. And lately, every time I’m with any girl besides her it feels wrong.

I can practically have any woman I want, but I can’t have her. She’s off limits because she’s part of that industry that owns my ass.

Sex was all I had.

And sometimes I thought maybe love was all I needed…with her.

Amazon UK \\ US


SBBromobanner

Leave a Reply

