Here’s To: Blue Streak by Jules Barnard

Blue Streak: A Blue Series Novella (Blue #4) by Jules Barnard

Genre: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance

Pages: Kindle Edition, 98 pages

Published: 16 April 2015

Source: eARC provided in exchange for an honest review

Each book in the Blue series can be read as a standalone.


BlueStreakNew-250x400

Blue Streak (Blue #4 : A Novella) 

Nessa Villanueva is tired of watching Zach Elliott go through women like water, while keeping her strictly in the friend zone. But Zach is hiding a dirty secret, and he’ll do whatever it takes to protect Nessa–even from himself.

He’s hiding a secret. She won’t settle for less.

Nessa Villanueva is tired of watching Zach Elliott date every woman except her. What Nessa doesn’t know is that Zach secretly puts her on a pedestal.

Zach feels dirty from the long-term affair he’s been having with his mother’s rich friend. Nessa’s too good for him, so he’ll do whatever it takes to keep her at arm’s length and protect her–even from himself.

But Zach doesn’t count on Nessa’s determination to break out of their friends-only relationship and show him how right they are for each other…

Amazon \\ Kindle \\ Kobo \\ Nook


jules bernard

Jules Barnard writes New Adult fiction. In her debut Blue Series, a summer in Lake Tahoe is anything but carefree when a group of recent college grads discovers that to find real love, sometimes you have to look beneath the surface.

Jules is a Northern California native living on the coast with her husband and two children. She has no impulse control around cupcakes and credits herself with the ability to read while running on the treadmill or burning dinner.

Amazon \\ Facebook \\ Newsletter \\ Goodreads \\ Twitter


BONUS! 

Deep Blue, the first book in the Blue series is FREE! Go get it nooowww!! AND Blue Streak is just .99! What are you waiting for?


review

typewriter typewriter typewriter typewriter heart

I clearly remember how I heard of this. There was this person who tweeted about a quiz: Which NA heroine are you? Thrilled, I took the quiz and guess who I am according to the quiz? Yerp. Exactly.

And then I found that Deep Blue is free and that Jules is offering eARCs of Blue Streak and of course, I tried out the accuracy of that quiz!

Okay, I haven’t fulfilled my promise yet – I haven’t started on the series. But that won’t change the fact that I am really excited to start on it.

panicksgif

 I’ll make this short. Blue Streak is perfect in all sides except for one thing. I have thought thoroughly about what didn’t sit well with me considering I loved the whole book. I found that it was because nobody was really unique and new. Aside from Nessa. They were all people I have read before, just with a different name. And I’m real tired of that. I always say that it usually doesn’t bother me but they just weren’t real enough.

Nessa turned to be a little forthcoming real fast in the story and the whole world turned around lighting fast, I should say. And Zach had this little stupidity nailed down, too. I like the friendship and family factors here. Blue Streak ended as greatly as I assumed it will and I lovelovelove the ending.

nidssgif

So, all in all, Blue Streak is a perfect cliche type of read. It’s cute, fun, with a little touch of darkness clouding in.

In general, I liked everyone and I can’t wait to read the series.

The writing, on the other hand, was fine.I liked it, and I found some quotable quotes here and there as you know – I have featured Blue Streak in one of our #WordsForWednesday posts some weeks back.

Overall, I hope that the characters had a little more of themselves in the whole story so I can say that this is something I fully love. Don’t take this the wrong way, I love Blue Streak. I love the setting, actually, I adore the setting. That’s the one part that I really love about this. I love the backdrop and while Nessa is real unique – Filipino roots! Yay! – Zach’s kind of people are becoming more common these days. I don’t know. I love this. But there’s somethign about Zach that doesn’t sit that well with me… that works for Nessa too. I love this novella in general and since this is really short, I recommend this to you people who don’t mind a little adorable romance when you have nothing to do. ❤

Leave a Reply

