Here’s To: Dearest Clementine by Lex Martin

Dearest Clementine (Dearest #1) by Lex Martin

Genre: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance, Suspense

Pages: Kindle Edition, 370 pages

Published: 25 May 2014

Source: Copy provided in exchange for an honest review 


812WCqH5FWL._SL1500_ Dearest Clementine (Dearest #1)

Twenty-year-old Clementine Avery doesn’t mind being called bitchy and closed off. It’s safe, and after being burned by her high school sweetheart and stalked by a professor her freshman year of college, safe sounds pretty damn good.

Her number one rule for survival? No dating. That is until she accidentally signs up for a romance writing class and needs material for her latest assignment. Sexy RA Gavin Murphy is more than happy to play the part of book boyfriend to help Clem find some inspiration, even if that means making out…in the name of research, of course.

As Gavin and Clem grow closer, they get entangled in the mystery surrounding a missing Boston University student, and Clem unwittingly becomes a possible target. Gavin tries to show Clem she can handle falling in love again, but she knows she has to be careful because her heart’s at stake…and maybe even her life.

Amazon \\ Kindle \\ Kobo \\ Nook 


LoveTheseArms Lex Martin writes new adult novels, the sexy kind with lotsa angst, a whole lotta kissing, and the hot happily ever afters. When she’s not writing, she lives a parallel life as an English teacher. She loves printing black and white photos, listening to music on vinyl, and getting lost in a great book. Bitten by wanderlust, she’s lived all over the country but currently resides in the City of Angels with her husband and twin daughters.

Amazon \\ Dearest Series Fan Group \\ Facebook \\ Goodreads \\ Instagram \\ Newsletter \\ Twitter 


review

typewriter typewriter typewriter typewriter typewriter

Oh, okay. This is one of the best series I’ve read in the while. And I mean a long while.

This book is just WOW.

wowgif omggif

Okay, I’ll ramble on so please understand if it doesn’t get so smooth for a while…

I freaking love this book. I read the series from the third book as you already know and so I can tell you how much Lex;s writing grew. Well, her writing, starting from here is already beautiful but she grew as an author and I freaking love her.

The characters! I should admit that they weren’t as alive as they were in Kissing Madeline but they are still there. I love everyone. But just saying: If I read this series from here, I’d probably rate this a 4. Probably. But no, I already love them so force me. *insert evil laugh here*

I love Clementine. Actually, I wonder why anyone would name their child with something as long as Clementine but then I’ve seen worse. Enough about her name… Clem is adorable! But real talk: She sure sounded like trying too hard at the beginning.

I love Gavin! He’s just pure charming. This book is written in a single POV – Clem’s. (Imagine what I was like! So… am I ever going to see Gavin’s mind or…?) But real talk: Their chemistry was extremely lacking especially at the start.

The main plot of Dearest Clementine is quite different from the other two books. While the other two are thisclose to being considered a cliche, Dearest Clemetine is a little far away from them. Plus, this one went on a little slower pace. It was not boring, but it wasn’t all thrilling either.

There was a little mystery in there. Yeah, well, on general people there would be but I’m not general people since I breathe mystery day in day out. As I said in my review of Kissing Madeline, this series is what brought me back to normal people contemporary NA romance that’s all sweet and blood-less, murder-less. So yup. Yeah. You get my point. No any kind of surprises for me there but well, it’s kinda hard to surprise me nowadays so no big deal, really.

Not even this spontaneous weekend trip that my mom planned. Not that you need to know I’m gone for the weekend.

When we get down to the romance, I’m always giggling. I swear. They’re cute and casual – purely adorable with a little touch of sexiness. Screw that. Pure hot. Yes I swear.

yaknowgif

I love that gif. Man, I’m ruining your lives. Oh and I love Maddie’s appearance hahahahahahhahahahahahha

Overall, Lex’s writing was overall beautiful here but started out trying a little too hard. As I mentioned, the romance was a little lacking in the chemistry department (more on the physics). But well, that was just at the beginning. I love them before it all went down. The little mystery play was a no-shocker for me, because well, it is pretty obvious. By the middle part, I love Clem and Gavin already and no one can stop me from shipping them. This review might be a little biased because I already love everyone before I even opened this book but if I’m going to say it straightforwardly, this will only get 4/5. But well, *shrugs* All in all, Dearest Clementine is what I’d call the start of Lex’s wonderful career as a wonderful writer.

Leave a Reply

