Presenting: In The Beginning There Was Us by Ingrid Jonach [2/2 : Giveaway+Review!!]

In the Beginning there was Us by Ingrid Jonach

Genre: Contemporary, Dystopian [?] \\ Futuristic, Romance, Young Adult, Urban Science Fiction

Pages: eBook, 255 pages

Published: 28 April 2015

Source: Copy was provided in exchange for an honest review

Hosted by: Oops I read a book again 

Note: I have decided to split the post into two because lengthy posts are lengthy. I have linked the first part of the post below 


review

typewriter typewriter typewriter typewriter heart

wipeseyesgif

That was me. Literally.

Just.

tangledoopsgif

I swear. I am left speechless by this book. I can’t even form a proper sentence – but I’ll do my best.

THAT ENDING THOUGH THAT ENDING THAT ENDING

ineedahuggif

I don’t understand why I’m so emotional about it but really.  Oh, and actually, this book is making me change what typewriters and hearts mean. I’d give all of my heart to this book, actually.

I am actually supposed to go to sleep now so I’ll make this as short as possible. 

Hold on to your seats because this will be a really emotional review. My feels. All my love. My heart. Is. Breaking. And I don’t even fully understand why.

Okay, reading ITBTWU (I swear this book is competing with TATBILB on “who has the longer title?!”) was like reading a summary of what actually happened but it managed to pierce through your feelings anyway. It was like, you were there but not really there. It was like watching a movie in 3D but not exactly… Do you get me?

Let me rephrase. Sometimes, the sentences really came to life but there were some times where we just read on.

Is that easier to understand? Yeah, I guess so.. I kinda get it but I still don’t…

Okay, let’s just move on to the plot. The plot sort of reminded me of Eve & Adam. (You can search for my review of E&A somewhere in my blog.. it’s somewhere there..) Yeah.. because well, Let’s play God. But not exactly because it’s not like this book is tryna play God. And E&A is not dystopian.

Oh yeah, this is not exactly dystopian.. more like, a book set somewhen in the far far future. No complicated government arrangement of some sort but still in the future… I believe anyway.

I always love sci-fi books it always thrills me hoe far people’s imaginations can take the advancement of science. It’s always amazing.

I love the art twist.

I love everybody.

CAN I NOW TALK ABOUT THE ENDING?

OH FREAK HOW AM I SUPPOSED TO KEEP THIS SPOILER FREE?

Okay, I won’t about the ending yet.

As I mentioned before, even though I love each and every single thing about this book, some times, the characters just felt detached. I don’t know how it happens but it does. (Not only to this book but also in others so..)

And all those twists. Oh my, fifteen is a little too young, isn’t it? Yup, I therefore conclude, fifteen is a bit young. She could have been sixteen at least. Yeah, maybe…

I mean, COLE. Cole. You little – uhm, yeah, well, Cole.

thisisjustnotacceptablegif

And Elwin. I mean. Just.

#Icant

It’s just that. This book is twisted and bizarre, and insane, and so awesome and unexplainably sweet. #Iliterallycant

OKAY I’VE HAD ENOUGH I’LL TALK ABOUT THE ENDING.

First off, it was pretty anti-climatic that nobody clearly explained what happened to nbaoncolebsoie. It would have been nice if a few more sentences about what happened to him were added. I’m not exactly complaining. I just want a little more lengthy explanation.

Second, I’m more of a Biology-and-Gen-Sci kinda person and not Chemistry-and-Physics so I understood half of everything. I mean, I got it generally. But not exactly. That’s my fault and I am positive that when I reread this, I’ll be able to explain what exactly Big Bang is.

GOD PARTICLES.

#spoiler

BUT THAT ENDING. THAT ENDING. I honestly hate Abbey’s father right now. And also Junior. And also her mother. Yeah, her whole family. I hate them right now.

ihateyoulikegif

Because Mila!! And Elwin!!

THAT ENDING. I HATE THIS. I WANT MORE. I CAN’T.

aftergif

Overall, this book is written greatly. I have pointed out how life slips off of the sentences and characters some times already and I’m tired of repeating myself. I generally think this novel is sad. I feel like the ending was a bit rushed but at the same it was on purpose. I think that’s the beauty of Ingrid’s writing. I can’t get enough but it is what it is done just like it’s supposed to be. The characters were unique and weird and I love them. Of course, except for Abbey’s family. I CAN’T WITH THEM RIGHT NOW SHUT UP. This book showed a lot of potential on just how far Science can really take us. But you know what they say, you can never really measure the power of human brain. Right now, it’s unlikely but it is definitely possible. Which makes this book real scary. As I said, this is a sad novel. That ending broke my heart. And maybe, really, friends are more like family than the people you are genetically connected to.


GIVEAWAY TIMEEE!! 

One human being from ANYWHERE IN THE WORLD will win ebooks of ITBTWU and When The World Was Flat (and we were in love)

giveaway


7866654

One thought on “Presenting: In The Beginning There Was Us by Ingrid Jonach [2/2 : Giveaway+Review!!]

Leave a Reply

