Stop, Look, Read On: The Violet Hour by Brynn Chapman BOOK TOUR + REVIEW!!

The Violet Hour by Brynn Chapman

Genre: Fantasy, New/Young Adult, Romance, Science Fiction

Pages: eBook, 177 pages

Published: 11 April 2015, Amazon

Source: Copy provided in exchange for an honest review

Organized by: YA Bound Book Tours 


the violet hour cover fINAL The Violet Hour

Secrets.

Allegra Teagarden, a musical prodigy, flees her father’s dominance and abuse while touring in pre-civil war Charleston, South Carolina. Plagued by depression over her mother’s suicide during their previous visit, she escapes in an effort to piece together the details behind her mother’s mysterious demise.

Secrets.

Down to her final coin, Allegra happens on Charleston’s Fancy, the first southern amusement park, which is searching for musicians for its orchestra. At first, the park seems her salvation; but she quickly realizes she has traded the dominance of her father, for the even more terrifying madness of the owner, Silas.

And more secrets.

Allegra meets the dashing Brighton LeFroy, Fancy’s engineer and pyrotechnics master. His shabby clothing cannot conceal the brilliant mind beneath. The musician’s whisper he is a witch, is obsessed with storms, and is rumoured… to fly. And despite the danger, despite her own misgivings, Allegra is inexplicable drawn to him.

She ventures to his reclusive home on Fire Isle during a thunderstorm and together they seek to unravel an ancient mystery.

Amazon


brynn chapman Brynn Chapman

Born and raised in western Pennsylvania, Brynn Chapman is the daughter of two teachers. Her writing reflects her passions: science, history and love—not necessarily in that order. In real life,  the geek gene runs strong in her family, as does the Asperger’s syndrome. Her writing reflects her experience as a pediatric therapist and her interactions with society’s downtrodden. In fiction, she’s a strong believer in underdogs and happily-ever-afters.  She also writes non-fiction and lectures on the subjects of autism and sensory integration and is a medical contributor to online journal The Age of Autism.

Amazon \\ Facebook \\ Goodreads \\ Twitter


review

typewriter typewriter typewriter typewriter

THIS. BOOK.

Okay, story time!

So when I was halfway through this book, it was really late at night and my mom always wakes up in the middle of the night and checks up on us (yes she still does that) and so I decided to sleep first (even though I didn’t want to!). Okay, so *sleeping* *dreaming*

Dream:

Me: *with Lucy (you have to read this book!)* *riding a horse, dusk time, together with Lucy* *looks into the lake full of crocodiles*
Me: Lucy, it’s too dangerous!
Lucy: It’s time.
Me: Huh?
Lucy: He called it The Violet Hour.

In the distant somewhere, a lake shined brightly, then we rode the horses to that lake.

Lucy: Can you see him?
Me: Yes!

*Fast forward*

Me: This is where we saw him!!
My mom: Here?
Me: Well, she said something about the violet hour and we first looked in over there *points the other lake full of crocodiles* then I almost fell off the horse then we went here and then the sky turned all violet and pretty and it opened up and-
Me: *gets cut off of the shining lake*
Mom: It opened up!

In the lake appeared a staircase and my mom went down

And I woke up with a feeling of deja vu.

Story time over!

Yes, that dream happened. Now, you need to read this book because it’s so magical and sci-fi-ish. 

Sci-fi-ish.

One, I have never read a sci-fi, fantasy book set in historical times. This. Is. Insane. I love this book so much.

(I’m sorry I haven’t written a review in about a week, I have no idea how to write one anymore)

And I love the characters. I am not reading a lot of historical novels because I often have a hard time connecting because, well, language, and when I do make a good connection, I tend to talk in Old English for a few hours or until the book hangover wears off… People can’t take that. But this book! I love the characters! I love the connection! I love the science! I love the magic + science thing! I love the magic!

(more exclamation points!)

Next, the villains (because half-fantasy duh) were pure evil. I hate them. Which means I love the character execution. This book is just just just

lostafeelingsgif

This is the point where I tell you that this book is so magical words can’t help me out.

The writing is lovely. I found very few quotes but they run deep.

This book held something enchanting and mystical I promise you’ll be hypnotized. Mixing science and historical setting isn’t easy but add in a bit of magic, viola, it’s a masterpiece.

It’s 1859, little is known about Science, and you – you ran away from your father. You end up in an amusement park and that one person you feel the need to be with is full of secrets.

We all come with baggage and sometimes, going against your father can be the best thing you’ll ever do.

Here’s to the stereotype of antagonists. But they irk me so much I just

fuckiswronggif

Moving on, I love the plot. It’s just new and dangerous, and magical, and I just love it. It’s something I have never read before. This is written in multiple POVs and trust me, it’s better that way. I love everything about this book.

I just. And everyone.

 saywhatgif

Overall, everybody should read this. Magic and science. OTP. Forever ships. Yup. Everything. Historical setting. Music. Yup. I love it. Friendship, check! Family, check! Quotable quotes, check! This is my newest everything. I love this. It’s not light but it’s not that dark either, okay maybe it’s playing on the edge of being dark but it’s not that dark. An the romance is the kind of romance where it just shoves you the attraction and bam! You’re shipping them. This book is genius and somewhere in the middle. It’s the kind of book that you’ll keep saying: Just. One. More. Page. And the next thing you know, you’re reading the epilogue. And that epilogue! I didn’t talk about the epilogue so much, I should’ve. The book went on a good pace and even though it might feel a little slow in the beginning, it’s great. The flow of the story in general is pretty much predictable but the details make you forget everything and let you live in every word. This world is magical and I love it and everyone needs to read this.

2 thoughts on “Stop, Look, Read On: The Violet Hour by Brynn Chapman BOOK TOUR + REVIEW!!

Leave a Reply

