Stop, Look, Read On: Burnt Edges by Dana Leipold BOOK TOUR! [GIVEAWAY+REVIEW+TOP 10!]

BURNT EDGES by Dana Leipold 

Genre: Contemporary, Drama, Women’s Fiction

Pages: eBook, 165 pages

Published: 21 Oct 2014, CreateSpace Independent Publishing Plaform

Source: ebook provided in exchange for an honest review

Organized by: Good Tales Book Tours


BurntEdgesEbook BURNT EDGES

Familiar abuse or an uncertain future? Which would you choose?

This is Laurel Lee Page’s dilemma when she is faced with an unplanned pregnancy at nineteen. Born into a broken family, guilt and shame are all she has ever known. No matter what she does or whom she meets, Laurel appears to be living a condemned life. However, she is determined to find independence and freedom in spite of her family’s legacy of hatred and self-contempt.

Set in Southern California during the tumultuous 1960’s, Burnt Edges is a contemporary novel based on true events that prove strength can emerge in the most horrific of circumstances.

Amazon \\ Barnes & Noble


 Leipold1Dana Leipold is an author and member of the Association of Independent Authors. Her debut novel, Burnt Edges, depicts the unwavering resilience of a young woman in the face of family violence and abuse.

She has self-published two other books: a collection of limericks in Dr. Seuss-style for adults entitled, Stupid Poetry: The Ultimate Collection of Sublime and Ridiculous Poems, and a non-fiction book entitled, The Power of Writing Well: Write Well. Change the World.

Leipold lives with her husband and two children in the San Francisco Bay Area.

Amazon \\ Facebook \\ Goodreads \\ Twitter

TOP 10 DREAM VACATIONS

  1. Safari in Africa
  2. Snorkeling on the Great Barrier Reef
  3. Cruising to Alaska
  4. Relaxing on the Beach in Bali
  5. Eating Pastries on the French Rivera
  6. Touring the Egyptian Pyramids
  7. Practicing Yoga in India
  8. Seeing a Broadway Show in New York
  9. Hiking Through the Amazon Forest
  10. Riding on a Gondola in Italy

ph review ph

 typewriter typewriter typewriter

 itstartedoutbutendedlikegif

Burnt Edges in one gif would be that^.

I was tweeting while reading this so if you scroll through my tweets for a while you’ll be able to my my real-time reactions. Which is not exactly great at the beginning…

So basically, my case goes  like this:

I don’t like stories that has a base on domestic violence. Especially the innocence violator kind.

I hated Burnt Edges at the start. I did not want to finish it.

I hate the start. That was a bad opening. I hate the topic. That was a bad base. I hate the characters. Just pure stupidity.

Just. Plain. Hated. It.

It actually reminded me of a particular series. Their one big difference is CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT.

One day, I’ll tell you what series I’m talking about but today is about Burnt Edges.

I hated the topic. I hated the start. I just did. I wanted to drop it so bad and whenever I do feel that, I check out a few reviews (aka ratings) and found that this is well-accepted so I went on.

I HAD TO FORCE MYSELF THOUGH.

It’s one of the worst circumstances. This book started on that.

I hated it.

When you swear you’ve said that truth and nobody believes you but instead they actually turn your words against you. They blame you instead of consoling. They make it seem like it was your fault.

Another thing, I hate wars. Just. Hate them.

One more thing, Burnt Edges had a bad time lapse.

I didn’t know how old they were, what age we’re in, where they were. Just that kinda thing. Just their whole age frame.

No big deal. #nts

(wait for me to remember that she had her birthday)

(wait for me to realise what’s happening)

And then somewhere in the story,

somewhere in the future, 

She changed.

AND IT WAS THE MOST WONDERFUL THING THAT HAPPENED.

yasbithcyasgif

Life is never easy but it all depends on you to own up all those hardships and be the strongest version of you.

This book has the most wonderful character development out of everything I have ever read.

likeevergif

But in life, just because you’re tougher than ever doesn’t mean nothing will try to get past that or try to take you down.

It happens.

In general, Burnt Edges is a good book with a really bad start and foundation and a great ending. I have talked to a person (who conveniently read my tweets while I was reading) and told her to give this a try so I’ll do the same for all of you. In the end, if you work up the courage and patience to read this, please do.

One reason: LIFE ONLY DEMANDS YOU TO DO ONE THING AND THAT IS TO GROW A BACKBONE.

I love the character development. The writing was a teeny tiny bit confusing because of the timeframe skip

(ex. bonus)

Bonus: I didn’t clam down. Or calm down for that matter.

And I know I have a messy twitter timeline.

dealwithitgif

On the other hand, maybe it was just my copy or maybe I just skipped a few sentences that says the timeline but let me tell you one thing for my defence: I reread those lines to make sure I didn’t skip the start. So really, nothing.

Overall, life is what you make out of it. When you’re young, you have no choice but to go with the flow. When they don’t let you make your own decisions, you have to shut up and go with them. But time goes by and you grow up and you get to live your own life. Your life, your decisions, your mistakes, your sins, your love, your choice. Never let people ridicule you. When they have stepped on you back then, make sure they don’t do it to you again. Remember, you can be good without being a doormat. Days blend into another and people change. Some for the better but some just stay the same even if it’s not for the good. People are not under your control and sometimes, they make decisions that affect your life greatly – whether you like it or now. Life throws you things that you can’t really control, all you can do is make the most of it. Love isn’t something that you force. If your significant friend is forcing you to change or is making you uncomfortable, think again. Remember, no matter how your story started, you deserve a happy end.

6 thoughts on “Stop, Look, Read On: Burnt Edges by Dana Leipold BOOK TOUR! [GIVEAWAY+REVIEW+TOP 10!]

  1. Thank you for your HONEST review. This book is NOT for the faint of heart and I give you kudos for sticking through the hard parts. The story is based on my mother’s life, and she did not have a choice when she was a child but she had a choice in raising me and my brother and I thank her for that EVERY DAY OF MY LIFE. Again, thank you so much for your review.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Goodness, it’s based on your mother’s life?! Now I’m crying real tears. In the end, I love Burnt Edges and it is really something I recommend for people to read. And really, it’s my honour to have read and review this book.

      Like

  2. Hi 🙂 Thanks for hosting & reviewing Burnt Edges. This was certainly one of most interesting reviews I’ve ever read. And I love the last sentence of your post- so true! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi!

    Thank you so much for hosting today! We sure do appreciate your support!

    Laurie Starkey
    Good Tales Book Tours

    Like

Leave a Reply

