Presenting: Nobody’s Business by M.J. Kane BOOK TOUR ! [GIVEAWAY+REVIEW+SNIPPET!]

NOBODY’S BUSINESS (The Butterfly Memoirs #4)

by M.J. Kane

Genre: Contemporary, Romance, Women’s Fiction

Pages: eBook, 320 pages

Published: 2 July 2015, 5 Prince Publishing

Source: copy provided

Organized by: Loving the Book


 NOBODY'S BUSINESS COVER FINAL NOBODY’S BUSINESS (The Butterfly Memoirs #4)

Trevon Campbell’s world changed the moment his ex-girlfriend announced he was a father. Determined to make up for his past mistakes, he gives Trina what she wanted before their breakup, what feels like his soul, which means forgetting the woman he had a one-night stand with, the woman who stole his heart.

Kai Malone doesn’t want to play by her family’s rules. Instead of working for the family business, she became a firefighter. Being a female of multicultural descent, working in a field dominated by men, Kai focuses on her job to ignore the infidelity of her fiancé. Tired of his deceit, she gave in to a one-night stand with a complete stranger, someone she’d never have to see again…or so she thought.

When tragedy strikes, their worlds collide, leaving them no choice but to deal with each other again. It doesn’t take long for them to realize the attraction that brought them together the first time is stronger than ever, forcing Trevon to make the biggest decision of his life.

Amazon \\ B&N \\ iBooks


SNIPPET: 

“Yo, Tre, what are you doing outside? The party is in there, man.” The groom stumbled, caught himself against the door jamb.

I chuckled. “Shaun, you’re drunk.”

“So what? It’s my party.” He raised his beer bottle and gulped the remaining liquid. “Tomorrow, I’ll be a married man.” He grinned like an idiot.

I tilted my head, raised an eyebrow. “Are you happy about that…or sad? Right now it could be a toss-up.”

“Happy!” He grinned, then spied the empty lawn chair beside me, stumbled his way over and plopped down. His butt nearly hit the ground. “Whew!”

I shook my head and watched my fraternity brother as he got comfortable. Shaun’s hair was disheveled from the stripper who’d worked her magic in his lap. The frat brothers decided to give him a proper send off by hiring a few girls for the night. Everyone knew his fiancé wouldn’t approve, so we went out of our way to keep it a secret. The look on his face when the women showed up an hour into what appeared to be a humble bachelor party was priceless.

Happy…

Seeing this brother’s enthusiasm for the arrangement was intriguing.

The idea of marriage was something I avoided. The opportunity had presented itself once, and I gladly declined. The consequences that followed had been…well…the word itself didn’t have a positive connotation.

“Shaun, if you’re happy, why in the hell are you drunk right now?”

He struggled to sit up and faced me. “Honestly? To keep myself out of trouble. If I’m drunk, I won’t be tempted. I can’t start my marriage with a guilty conscience.” He grinned as if his idea was a no brainer.

I guess in some twisted way, his logic made sense.

He burped, then fell back in the chair and closed his eyes. “So when are you gonna bite the bullet and find Mrs. Campbell?”

I barked out a laugh. “Mrs. Campbell? I have yet to find a woman to fill that position.” I tilted my bottle up, and drank deep.

“Can I tell you a secret?”

I glanced at Shaun; his eyes were still closed and his words had begun to slur.

“Sure.”

He turned his head in my direction and forced his eyes open. “She’s not going to be perfect,” he said in a drunken whisper. “If that’s what you’re waiting on, you’ll be alone for life. You gotta remember…you’re not perfect either. Accept her faults like you want her to accept yours.” He winked, then closed his eyes. Seconds later, he was snoring.

Perfection.

That wasn’t new. I knew from the get go that no woman would be perfect. God knows I had my own faults.

The real question was what was I looking for? Would I know when I found her?

My chest tightened at the memory I fought to ignore. The memory of the exotic beauty of the woman who stole my heart the moment our eyes had connected.

We spent one night together, then she was gone.

When our paths crossed again, she broke my heart.

Not only had she lied about her name, she forgot to mention a small detail about her life.

She was engaged.

To make matters worse, she was engaged to my best friend’s brother.


 Author Pic 5.2012 M.J. KANE

M.J. Kane stumbled into writing. An avid reader, this stay at home mom never lost the overactive imagination of an only child. As an adult she made up stories, though never shared them, to keep herself entertained. It wasn’t until surviving a traumatic medical incident in 2006 that she found a reason to let the characters inhabiting her imagination free. Upon the suggestion of her husband, she commandeered his laptop and allowed the characters to take life. It was that, or look over her shoulder for men caring a purple strait jacket. And the rest, as they say, is history.

5 Prince Publishing \\ Amazon \\ Email \\ Facebook \\ Goodreads \\ Google + \\ Instagram \\ LinkedIn \\ Pinterest \\ The Butterfly Mrmoirs \\ Twitter


 review

typewriter typewriter typewriter typewriter

I’d throw this out here before everything else.

I hate it when the coloured characters constantly point out the racism happening out there. I get it. it happens. No need to remind me that you’re not white. and that you’re discriminated. Honestly, whenever it’s constantly repeated in a book, I feel like the characters are being racist to themselves. I hate it.

Now that we’ve cleared the one factor that I hated about this book – the constant reminder of colours or races, let’s move on to the love love love.

CAN I NOW HAVE THE SECOND BOOK PLEASE THANK YOU

WHERE DID THIS SERIES CAME FROM AND HOW COME I HAVE NEVER HEARD OF IT BEFORE THIS TOUR? WHY DID NO ONE TELL ME ABOUT THIS BEFORE? THIS IS WAY TOO BEAUTIFUL TO GO UNNOTICED. WHERE’S THE FANDOM FOR THIS? WHERE DO I SIGN UP?

Seriously. If you haven’t read this book, you’re missing out on the whole world of cliche mixed-raced thing lead contemporary romance. Yes, it’s a thing. You can start by reading this book. Or the whole series for that matter. One thing, they’re dramatic. If it’s not about personal issues with the family, it’s a baby thing. Trust me, I know.

The summary up there focused more the on the one-night-stand part of the story but the reality is always bigger than that. I l love how the romance played while their careers were moving and life went on. I love it when the romance moves along with life, urging them to move forward. I love the kids! I swear, this book is filled with kids. Someone is always pregnant. It happens.

I love Kai’s independence and her courage to do what she wants to do. I also love that she acknowledges her own weakness. #GirlPower What I love about Trevon is his love for Justin. I mean, how can you not?! Although he’s also a guy in every sense of the word, that makes him more real.  He’s flawed but he makes every effort to make it up for it. Also, he adores Justin and Kai. It’s literally the sweetest thing.

Nobody’s Business is written in Kai’s and Trevon’s POV in first person. It’s perfect. The writing is as beautiful as it gets. I am telling you, reading a pdf file is always not good if the writing is beautiful. It’s hard to highlight quotes. The characters were all lovable. End of the story.

Overall, Nobody’s Business is a beautiful tale of love. Not just romantically but also for family and friends. True friends will stay with you through thick and thin. And family will always be there to support you on whatever you go through in life. Love isn’t something you can schedule. Let’s face it, you can schedule nothing in life. Even if one thing is not on the top of your priority list, if life suddenly throws that to you, you have no choice but to deal with it. Sometimes, what’s unexpected can be the best thing that can happen to you. In the end, you’re the only one who can make decisions for yourself. Your life is what you make it to be and what you allow to happen, how you deal with the uncontrollable and letting things fall in their places in due time. That’s life.


FOLLOW THE TOUR!

Follow through the official event page!

Or through these blogs:

2 JULY
Sarah Kristy’s Book Reviews

3 JULY
Little Shop of Readers \\ Red-Heads Reading

4 JULY
2 Girls Who Loves Books \\ Book hangover

5 JULY
nerdychampagne

7 JULY
The Writer’s Revolution

9 JULY
Little Shop of Readers

10 JULY
JDSLZONE

11 JULY
Liz Josette \\ Sweet ‘n’ Sassy Book-a-Holics

12 JULY
Bound2Escape

13 JULY
Melody’s Love For Books

14 JULY
Semishort

15 JULY
Rebecca Lamoreaux – Author in Progress

17 JULY

Author Candy O’Donnell

18 JULY
A Closet Full of Books

19 JULY
Lynn Romance Enthusiast

20 JULY
Author Sandra Love

21 JULY
Natural Bri

22 JULY
Fictional Rendezvous 

23 JULY
Room with Books


GIVEAWAY!

The prizes will be awarded every week! You can enter many of the contests multiple times!

WEEK 1: eBooks of Railyn Stone’s THE CHRISTMAS TREE GUY and A SECRET TO KEEP

WEEK 2: eBooks of Cristina Ow’s FATAL JEALOUSY and FATAL OBSESSION

WEEK 3: eBooks of Lisa J. Hobman’s REASONS TO LEAVE and REASONS TO STAY

giveaway


 New Top button

Leave a Reply

