The Floor Is Yours: S. L. Saboviec! [Guarding Angel BOOK TOUR: GUEST POST!!]

GUARDING ANGEL (Falling Redemption #1)
by S.L. Saboviec

Genre: Adult, Fantasy

Pages: Paperback, 280 pages

Published: 16 May 2014, Saboviec Publishing


 Guarding Angel - Cover GUARDING ANGEL (Fallen Redemption #1) 

They’re the ones who choose their paths before reincarnating-she’s just there to help make sure they stay on track. But it’s not as easy as it might look.

Guardian angel Enael is forced to confront her inability to protect her Wards when a demon interferes in their lives.

Amazon \\ Google Books \\ Kindle CA | US \\ Kobo \\ Nook


Hey everyone! Today, I’m honoured to have Ms. Samantha on the blog today! ❤ Also, I’m going to (read first) post a review of Guarding Angel somewhen… later this year (probably before October or somewhen there…) so you have to stay tuned for that. (There will be lots of fangirling over the cover too.) AND don’t forget, Guarding Angel is on sale for $0.99 from now until the end of July 2015. Because you know, you know you want to get it now and then proceed on telling me how awesome it is and I’m missing out on life by not reading it now and all those stuff. Now, without further ado, I’m giving the floor to S. L.

SL Saboviec - Head Shot

Hello, everyone! This is S. L. Saboviec, and I’m pleased to be a guest today on nerdychampagne. I’m author of the Adult Paranormal novel Guarding Angel, and I’m here to talk a bit about my process.

How do I find time to write every day? Well, I’m busy. Very, very busy. I work full-time as a project manager at a bank, and less than a year ago, I had my first child, a daughter, who is precocious and happy and now crawling all over the house getting into stuff all the time.

But somehow, I manage to find two hours of writing time a day. I’m working on two novels right now, I’ve critiqued five writing partners’ novels so far this year, and since going back to work in April, I’ve managed to write two short stories a month.

As you might surmise, this isn’t an accident.

How I Find Two Hours a Day

First of all, I have a supportive husband. This is important, although the one thing most out of my control (except for my husband-picking skill).

The other thing out of my control is my commute: I have forty-five minutes on a train twice a day. Although I don’t particularly enjoy public transportation—I’m not what you would call a people person—it’s a chunk of time handed to me on a silver platter. The other thirty minutes is my lunch break, when I go into the cafeteria and write while I eat my lunch.

Still, just because I have the time doesn’t mean I use it wisely. In the past, I’ve found myself on Twitter, reading message boards, or even playing games on my phone. It’s easy to get distracted or decide I don’t feel like writing.

You’re reading this because you want to know how I do it. The simple answer is: I just do. I set word count goals, and whether I feel like it or not, I write. When Plants vs. Zombies is looking attractive because I have a headache or didn’t sleep well last night (eleven-month-old sleeping patterns, anyone?), I look at my to-do list and refresh my commitment to writing. I want to put out my sequel in early 2016. If I don’t write today, I’ll have more to do tomorrow and the next day and the next. Pretty soon, I’ll blow deadlines and…

Hey, I want to be a writer, right? So I need to write.

So how do you write every day? Look at your schedule, choose the times that make sense for you, and then just do it.

How I Keep Organized

I’m not going to leave you hanging. This isn’t pen-and-paper writing that I’m doing here. I have cultivated several tools I can’t live without.

My laptop is key. It was a cheap one. $200, tiny, light, fits into my purse. I didn’t need some expensive gaming rig—I needed something that I could bring with me everywhere. I’ve written in the waiting room of a doctor’s office. I’ve written while sitting on the steps of the train when no seats were available. I’ve written in bed while nursing my baby.

Why a laptop instead of a tablet? I tried a tablet, but it didn’t work. I found that Scrivener keeps me organized, and (so far) it doesn’t have an app. I could spend precious minutes scrolling through Word documents, trying to figure out where I was and what I was thinking. Scrivener has everything I need.

Then there’s Dropbox, which syncs between my laptop and my (gaming rig) computer. I can also access files and notes on my mobile phone if needed. And finally, I use Google Keep on my smartphone to write down ideas that pop into my head—plot seeds, short story ideas, witty lines to insert later.

Because I have everything set up, it requires little maintenance. When I started out, I was manually syncing everything across my devices. But a few minutes a day starts to add up—and that’s time better spent with my husband, daughter, or a blank page.

So how do you keep organized? Figure out what works for you, use the technology available, and set up something that’s self-sustaining.

I hope this peek into my writing setup helped you out. The best writing advice that I’ve ever gotten was, “Find what works for you.” That goes for everything, including time management and the how-to of it all.


About Me:

I’m a self-published author whose dark, thought-provoking science fiction & fantasy contains flawed, relatable characters and themes that challenge the status quo. Guarding Angel is on sale for $0.99 right now. You can find it at several major eBook retailers and on Amazon in paperback. The sequel, Reaping Angel, will be released in early 2016.

You can also follow me on social media, check out the other stops on this blog tour, or if you like my work, sign up for my newsletter:

Thank you, Ren, for having me here today!


Thank you, S. L. for dropping by. (She’s such a wonderful woman to work with. :)) So there you have it, my dears (I had a really weird intro going on up there – so many nows!). Don’t forget to check out the other blogs on the tour because surely, there is/will be lots of amazing discussions/excerpts/deleted scenes/posts happening there. ❤

Leave a Reply

