Stop, Look, Read On: A Question of Counsel by Archer Leah Kay BOOK TOUR!! [GIVEAWAY+REVIEW!!]

A QUESTION OF COUNSEL
by Archer Leah Kay

Genre: Adult, LGBT, Romance

Pages: eBook, 118 pages

Published: 27 May 2015, Less Than Three Press

Source: copy provided

Organized by: Xpresso Book Tours


 Counsel A QUESTION OF COUNSEL

Life hasn’t been easy for Aeley since she arrested her brother, and her role as a political leader leaves her feeling isolated and lonely. Days before her brother’s trial, she meets Lira, a quiet and modest scribe who makes Aeley want more than just a professional relationship.

When she attends the trial and leaves with a marriage contract, Aeley doesn’t know what to do. She must choose one of two brothers, marrying into a family she doesn’t know. Then she discovers that Lira is part of the same family–a sister to Aeley’s suitors and the family’s disgrace. And not at all opposed to an intimate relationship.

Except random acts of violence against her people test Aeley’s ability as a leader, and a web of lies and deceit threaten not only her chance at happiness, but her life…

Amazon \\ B&N \\ Kobo \\ Smashwords


Archer Archer Kay Leah was raised in Ontario, Canada, growing up in a port town at a time when it was starting to become more diverse, both visibly and vocally. Combined with the variety of interests found in Archer’s family and the never-ending need to be creative, it has been this diversity that has inspired Archer’s love of toying with characters and their relationships, exploring new experiences and crazy situations.

Archer started writing stories at age six and became “that kid” with their nose in the books and a pen in their hand, pursuing the challenges of writing novels at age thirteen and conquering the dread of poetry at fifteen. Archer most enjoys writing speculative fiction and is engaged in a very particular love affair with fantasy, especially when it is dark and emotionally charged.

When not reading and writing for work or play, Archer is a geek who has too many hobbies, keeping busy with other creative endeavors,a music addiction, and whatever else comes along, especially if it is in technological form. Archer lives in London, Ontario with a same-sex partner and their cat.

Amazon \\ Facebook \\ Goodreads \\ Twitter


review

typewriter typewriter typewriter typewriter typewriter

THIS BOOK IS EVERYTHING IDK ABOUT YOU BUT THIS IS MY CURRENT EVERYTHING

This review is going to be so emotional.

One, I just have so many feels towards this book.

Two, this book is really awesome.

Three, I really have no idea how to get around this I mean who gets over this kind of book I can’t.

But since I love you guys and I love this book so much and I want to share it with you guys – my opinion, my words, my emotions, my everything about this book so I’m going to try.

So okay where do I start? The characters? ALL ADORABLE. Myer is a dude I was annoyed/scared at first. Like, first three pages. But he’s such a sweet guy and I was like: “I can’t believe I almost hated this guy at first sight! He’s awesome!” And then there’s Lira. When we met her, (including MC’s reaction toward her) I KNEW IT. Actually, it was the most exciting part of my night. Okay, maybe beside all the other exciting things.

I’m fangirling so hard right now hold on.

(Explanation: I am under parole. I cannot use gifs for the next reviews because I abused them on my last review.

*insert: selena gomez I got no regrets gif here*)

Where was I? Oh right. Lira. She had this really mysterious aura in her all throughout the novel. It’s crazy. It drove me crazy. It didn’t help that Aeley is smitten. NBVFEGPWOQNSB

*more incoherent fangirling sounds*

So Aeley. She’s a strong independent unselfish kind woman. I adore her.

So more on to the exciting things. 

I saw people, more like, person, shelf this book as Fantasy. Can someone explain to me why? This isn’t fantasy for me in any sense. It was more historical. The amount of skirt? Bodice? All those strings? And to quote: “Unable to breathe, Aeley felt cold. Contrary to the common fashion, the woman’s white gown covered everything but her throat and wrists. A comb decorated with small, glittering jewels held her dark hair back on one side. In the daylight, her skin seemed to glow with a faint, pink hue”. And then the scribe and quill and ink and all those. Definitely historical for me.

Go and try to tell me it doesn’t sound so.

I read it and I am fangirling over it and I know something you don’t know.

*wink*

*more fangirl nonsense happening in the background, please stay tuned*

I’m back. So then… A Question of Counsel is written in Aeley’s POV in third person. So yes to Lira. And it’s so real you know. It’s just love. It might have actually surpassed any other romance novel I’ve read. It’s just so real. So… how do you say it in words?

Moving on, (since I sincerely can’t find a words appropriate enough to explain my love for this.) while I quite focused on the romance, the action didn’t die down. I liked that the romance didn’t so much overpowered the whole plot. It was constantly there and yes, sometimes, the whole other world just fades from all the steam *ehem* but the action, the logic, the struggles were there. They were there. They happened. Just.

Overall, this review have been really hard to write. (There isn’t much actually.) Simply put, this book left me speechless. End of the story. It’s that great. It’s beyond great at this point for me. (book hangover? Yup.) The writing definitely had a historical aura for me (I don’t know about other people) and it’s beautiful. The love. The struggles. The room for growth. I’m in love with this book. It’s not just about the romance between Lira and Aesley. It’s also about friendships, trust, and relationship with people. It’s not bad to live up to a legacy but make sure to stay true to who you are. To put it bluntly, I think everyone should read this. (That’s it. I’m out. I need to vent all these emotions inside of me.)


 GIVEAWAY!

One (1) $5 Amazon Gift Card – Open internationally! 🙂

giveaway


 xpressobutton

6 thoughts on “Stop, Look, Read On: A Question of Counsel by Archer Leah Kay BOOK TOUR!! [GIVEAWAY+REVIEW!!]

  1. Oh, wow. I’m so incredibly humbled right now. *blush* Thanks for this. I’m SO glad you enjoyed it!

    And since you asked: the fantasy thing It does make sense, I promise! While you’re right on the money with the historical feel, the book’s a fantasy because it takes place in a different world. The landscape, politics, spirituality, and some other details never existed in the real world. But I was inspired by a couple historical periods — medieval and the 17th century, mostly — so that’s why it comes off historical. I also promise you aren’t the only one who sees it that way! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m happy you liked the crazy review! ❤ If anything, I'd like to thank you for this wonderful story that I know wouldn't fail to make me smile anytime of the day. *brb, fangirling*

      Ooh, it makes much more sense now. I got the different place, politics, etc. part down before but the stars have aligned right here, right now. Thank goodness I'm not the only confused by it. I was already praying that a hole would open and swallow me up. *whew*

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Just stopping in to say that I have the sequel available, which is Mayr’s story (and Aeley & Lira definitely show up). If you ever want a copy, let me know and I can hook you up with it!

    (This is still the best review everrrrr. I totally get warm fuzzies and then some. <3)

    ~ Archer

    Like

Leave a Reply

