Stop, Look, Read On: Discovering Delilah by Melissa Foster BOOK TOUR!! [GIVEAWAY+REVIEW!!]

DISCOVERING DELILAH (Harbourside Nights #2)
by Melissa Foster

Genre: LGBT, New Adult, Romance

Pages: eBook, 222 pages

Published: 9 July 2015

Source: copy provided

Organized by: Beck Valley Book Tours

CONTENT WARNING: Due to mature content, recommended for readers aged 18+*


 discovering delilah DISCOVERING DELILAH (Harbourside Nights #2)

After the death of her parents on the day of her college graduation, Delilah Armstrong thought she could finally follow her heart and come out to her closest friends, but the guilt of going against her parents’ beliefs haunts her. The feelings she has for her best friend, Ashley, are stronger than anything she’s felt before, but Delilah has never even kissed a girl, and fear stops her at every turn.

Ashley Carver promised herself that she would never again date another girl who wasn’t out, but that was before she met intoxicatingly sweet and sexy Delilah.

When another girl offers to teach Delilah the ropes, it changes Delilah’s whole world and gives her the courage to go after the only girl she really wants. But coming out isn’t as easy as Delilah imagined, and moving past her parents’ death and the feelings of guilt she is left with is even harder. The intense passion between Ashley and Delilah is too strong to deny, but coming together means risking everything

Amazon UK | US \\ B&N \\ iBooks \\ Kobo


 TRAILER: 


melissafosterauthor  Melissa Foster is a New York Times & USA Today bestselling and award-winning author. She writes contemporary romance, new adult, contemporary women’s fiction, suspense, and historical fiction with emotionally compelling characters that stay with you long after you turn the last page. Her books have been recommended by USA Today’s book blog, Hagerstown Magazine, The Patriot, and several other print venues. She is the founder of the World Literary Café and Fostering Success. When she’s not writing, Melissa helps authors navigate the publishing industry through her author training programs on Fostering Success. Melissa has been published in Calgary’s Child Magazine, the Huffington Post, and Women Business Owners magazine.

Melissa hosts an Aspiring Authors contest for children and has painted and donated several murals to The Hospital for Sick Children in Washington, DC. Melissa lives in Maryland with her family.

Amazon \\ Facebook \\ Goodreads \\ Google + \\ Newsletter \\ Pinterest \\ THE WORLD LITERARY CAFE \\ Twitter 


 review

typewriter typewriter typewriter typewriter typewriter

Me about this book:  *turns up my inner Britney Spears*

With a taste of your lips
I’m on a ride
You’re toxic I’m slipping under
With a taste of a poison paradise
I’m addicted to you
Don’t you know that you’re toxic

GOODNESS. This is my drug. Can’t get enough.

Now, anyone who knows more LGBT romance out there? I am in need of recommendations. I am in no position as of now – with my TBR pile and crazy schedule and all that, to ask for recommendations especially for books like this. This, as in: the kind of book I’d want to stay up late for. The kind of book I would not be able to do anything but think of it. The kind of book I just can’t get out of my damn head. This is exactly that kind of book. So addicting.

What are you doing to me, Melissa? What kind of sorcery is this????! STAAAHHHPP.

Okay, don’t stop writing beautiful books like this. And maybe the fault is in me. I was so thrilled about this book. I mean, before I even received the copy, I already love it.

It’s that kind of book.

The writing is just loveLOVELOVELOVE. The romance was so real. The happenings. The emotions. The every single word. Just. *speechless* Magical. Wonderful. Love.

Me about book and the writing aka indirect to Melissa: *turns up my inner punk rock wanna-be*

Don’t stop doing what you’re doing
Every time you move to the beat it gets harder for me
And you know it, know it, know it
Don’t stop, ’cause you know that I like it
Every time you walk in the room you got all eyes on you
And you know it, know it, know it

The characters. GOODNESS HELP ME. I love everybody.

Okay, so some people were kind of uhm, b!t(#*$ but really, they’re there so we can roll our eyes at someone, right? I mean, that’s life. What’s life if it isn’t about holding your ground when those people with no lives come and try to take yours? I love how this is not only a story about breaking out of that shell. I mean, think of metamorphosis. A butterfly has to break out of its pupa before it goes out and makes everything beautiful, right? So think of that soon-to-be butterfly. I think, life is a lot like that – and I saw that very thing in this book. (THIS IS SO BEAUTIFUL YOUR ARGUMENT IS INVALID) In life, you first have to figure yourself out – a lot like starting from a caterpillar. You’re just there, doing what you feel like you’re supposed to be doing. Doing what everyone thinks you should be. Fitting in and being accepted is a need for us human beings. We all go through that struggle at some point in life. Delilah was at that point in her life when this all started. As time moves along, there will be that turning point. You just want to be you, that point where you don’t feel so happy about what you’re doing anymore. That is when you lock yourself out of the world, keeping an outer appearance like you’re there but in truth, you’re on a war you’re not even sure what your odds at winning are. Another thing I love about this book is that Delilah didn’t give up. She tried hard. I think that’s a very important thing for everyone. Because you know, your battles are not going to fight themselves. You have to win them. In order to be who you’re meant to be, you have to be accepting of who you are right now.

The romance is one of the best I have ever read in my entire life. You don’t get to choose who you love. It just happens. I think it’s wrong for other people to force to others what they think is right. I mean, life is too short. You can’t hold back someone from living their lives. The friendship factor in this book is precious. I love all the support. I just love everything about everyone. I love how this book was able to show the difference between families, how parents have a great impact on children, how children turn out to be because of their parents, the difference of generations. And also, I love the way Delilah found the closure. The acceptance at the end. Because really, it is important in life to keep trying. Life changes as time goes by. You have to change along without losing what makes you you.

THIS BOOK IS DOWNRIGHT PRECIOUS.

me about the characters of this book: *turns up my inner Fifth Harmony*

Don’t go and waste your precious time
With all the nonsense on your mind, no
Don’t criticize yourself no more
You got a smile worth fighting for
Yeah, you got everything with your perfect porcelain
Ain’t no one compare to it
You just gotta remind yourself
That you’re amazing, babe
You’re breaking down in every way
Could be smiling every day
Just gotta remind yourself
You can dance like Beyoncé
You can shake like Shakira
‘Cause you’re brave, yeah, you’re fearless
And you’re beautiful, you’re beautiful
So whine like Rihanna
Go and pose like Madonna
‘Cause you’re brave, yeah, you’re honest
And you’re beautiful, you’re beautiful girl

And the romance: *turns up my inner Demi Lovato*

Even if they judge
Fuck it
I’ll do the time
I just wanna have some fun with you
Got my mind on your body
And your body on my mind
Got a taste for the cherry
I just need to take a bite
Don’t tell your mother
Kiss one another
Die for each other
We’re cool for the summer

Only, not just for the summer but more like, forever.

OmG THIS BOOK

Overall, I’m thinking of a lot things as I wrote this review. Everything about this book is beautiful and I highly think that everyone should read this – especially nowadays when acceptance is something everyone really craves and fights for. Maybe not by those who really needs it, but by those who can for those who deserves it. Really, life is too short to stick your nose where it doesn’t belong. As much as I say that life is too short to not do what you want to, I’ll also shove this on everyone faces: Life is too short to prevent people from being who they want to be, from keeping people from doing whatever they want to. You cannot waste your little precious time holding them back because you never know when your time will end, and also how you’re affecting those people. We’re all human beings and we need love, affection, intimacy, acceptance, understanding. Think of what you’d be like when the tables are turned. Be real. Also, if you have time on meddling into other people’s businesses, how about just picking up this book.

Also I have decided to make an impromptu playlist. Like, just two seconds ago. I actually didn’t think when I started throwing those songs in and actually it was just because they just came in. So…

  • Express Yourself/Born This Way – Ariana Grande
  • E•MO•TION – Carly Rae Jepsen
  • Top of the World – Bridgit Mendler
  • Give Me Love – Ed Sheeran
  • Diamond in My Eyes – Julie Anne San Jose
  • Languishing – Mariah Carey
  • Close Your Eyes – Meghan Trainor
  • Up – Olly Murs

Okay, since I’m tired and shuffle isn’t giving me more songs I can connect to, we’ll settle for that and a bunch more of cheesy love songs. Also, you have to put them on shuffle because I found them on shuffle then arranged them by the artist’s first name. Don’t forget the other four songs in the middle of the review. (Britney Spears – Toxic, 5SOS – Don’t Stop, 5H – Brave, Honest, Beautiful, and Demi Lovato – Cool for the Summer)


OTHER BOOKS IN THE SERIES:harborside nights

FOLLOW THE TOUR!


GIVEAWAY!

Five lucky winners will each win the Game of Love ebook!

(Ending on Friday 7th August at 11.59pm EST | Open INTL!)

giveaway


 beck valley books button

4 thoughts on “Stop, Look, Read On: Discovering Delilah by Melissa Foster BOOK TOUR!! [GIVEAWAY+REVIEW!!]

  1. OMG–you are TOO much!! LOVE IT!!!! I truly love how involved you are with the characters and story. I can tell just how much it affected you. Thank you for a memorable and awesome review XOXO

    Like

Leave a Reply

