Here’s To: The Univited by Cat Winters

THE UNINVITED by Cat Winters

GENRE: Adult, Historical, Paranormal, Romance

PAGES: Paperback, 343 pages

PUBLISHED: 11 August 2015, William Morrow

SOURCEeARC for tour organized by BOOKSLAPPED and provided by Edelweiss


theuninvitedcover  THE UNINVITED

Twenty-five year old Ivy Rowan rises from her bed after being struck by the flu, only to discover the world has been torn apart in just a few short days.

But Ivy’s life-long gift—or curse—remains. For she sees the uninvited ones—ghosts of loved ones who appear to her, unasked, unwelcomed, for they always herald impending death. On that October evening in 1918 she sees the spirit of her grandmother, rocking in her mother’s chair. An hour later, she learns her younger brother and father have killed a young German out of retaliation for the death of Ivy’s older brother Billy in the Great War.

Horrified, she leaves home, to discover the flu has caused utter panic and the rules governing society have broken down. Ivy is drawn into this new world of jazz, passion, and freedom, where people live for the day, because they could be stricken by nightfall. But as her ‘uninvited guests’ begin to appear to her more often, she knows her life will be torn apart once more, but Ivy has no inkling of the other-worldly revelations about to unfold.

Amazon


 PRAISE FOR THE UNINVITED:

“Dark and romantic…[The protagonist’s] compelling voice carries this gothic coming-of-age story, at once horrifying and tender, toward a revelatory yet hopeful conclusion.”

— Publishers Weekly

“A wonderfully atmospheric and intriguing novel. Cat Winters portrays a fascinating period in American history with clever writing and a delicious plot twist. A novel that is sure to keep readers hooked to the end.”

— Hazel GaynorNew York Times bestselling author

“Evocative and lushly written, THE UNINVITED also features a twist I never saw coming.”

— April HenryNew York Times bestselling author


Cat Winters ap1  Cat Winters was born and raised in Southern California, near Disneyland, which may explain her love of haunted mansions, bygone eras, and fantasylands. She received degrees in drama and English from the University of California, Irvine, and formerly worked in publishing. Winters lives in Portland, Oregon, with her husband and two kids.

[ Amazon ] [ Facebook ] [Goodreads ] [ Twitter ]


 rev

ratedh

 First, I’d like everyone to know that this review was supposed to go up on 15 August 2015. But obviously, it never did. And that I am changing the layout a bit. (A review-rating over there and my rating for the book is at the bottom of this review.)

Okay, also, as much as I’d like to say that I expected that ending, I didn’t.  I should’ve known but I did not so here I am.

It’s been such a long time I honestly don’t know how to write a review anymore. *sigh*

Well, I accidentally closed my browser and so what I wrote here was not saved and I am so sad that it was not and I have no idea how to start again. Dammit, I don’t even remember a single sentence from what I wrote. *sips hot chocolate* *burns tongue* DAMMIT.

I’ll start for real now. Let’s talk about the writing first. I know I don’t say much about how a book is written usually but this book is written way too magnificently. With that said, please expect a huge comeback with #WordsForWednesday. There’s just something magical about this book. I can’t point it out exactly, and I know that kinda makes me useless but there is something about the way this book is written. It wasn’t just the plot. It wasn’t just the cover. The writing played a huge role on what this book did to me. Simply put, this book is speaking on such a loud volume and I hope that this book be heard. The world is in a huge chaos and sometimes, the problem is in the present and the solution is in the past. There is a saying (by Jose Rizal) that: One who doesn’t know how to look back on where one came from will not be able to go to where one is headed to. (Poor translation but whatever.)

But really now, why are we not talking about the romance??? It is what kept me from everything!!! THE ROMANCE. How come this book was really sweet and crazy and so emotional and so meaningful at the same time?????

Confession: This book has got me thinking. But I won’t tell you what I’m thinking of because it might blow your world out of proportion. In case you need that, just read When The World Was Flat (And We Were In Love).

Let’s just move on to the characters. I have no idea what to say. I am literally speechless. That quite sums up my reaction to this book. SPEECHLESS. Let’s just say what needs to be said. I did not have a hard time connecting to these people. It flowed so perfectly. This is historical, yes but the way this is written, I actually sometimes forgets about that. This book was just real and unreal at the same time. Okay, so Ivy. She’s a pretty woman who doesn’t have a lot, quite naive and slow, but has a big heart and full of love. Maybe it is that love that caused her downfall but I just want to point out the amount of people she helped with that love of hers. Next, Daniel. Oh, sweet twisted Daniel. HOW COULD YOU????

Let’s talk about the ending.

(I move on quite fast, don’t I?)

So Daniel. Yeah. Basically, he’s the one who left me speechless. He’s quote weird, hot, weird, maybe a little romantic, and well, a liar.

Well, read the synopsis because I sincerely don’t want to spoil anyone. BUT THAT ENDING. Fine, I’ll stop bothering you with the ending. It was cute and mindblowing and threw me off my seat and heartbreaking and every. single. emotion. 

I don’t know what else to say. The plot was great. It’s making me cry. The message this book has!!!!! Just. This was written in Ivy’s POV in first person and it was everything. I mean it.

In the end, life is complicated, unpredictable, and deceiving. You cannot trust someone completely but it will always just ask you to do one little thing. And that thing is move on. (Am I spoiling everybody yet?) And that what you see isn’t always what you get. And being able to survive isn’t always the best thing.

ENOUGH. NOW PICK UP THIS BOOK SO YOU’LL EXPERIENCE WHAT I FELT. THIS BOOK IS JUST SO EMOTIONAL AND MEANINGFUL AND JUST PICK THIS BOOK UP BECAUSE YOU NEED THIS IN YOUR LIFE. EVERYBODY DOES.

 typewriter1a typewriter1a typewriter1a typewriter1a

One thought on “Here’s To: The Univited by Cat Winters

Leave a Reply

