Here’s To: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

GONE GIRL by Gillian Flynn

GENRE: Adult, Contemporary, Mystery

PAGES: Mass Market Paperback, 566 pages

PUBLISHED: 24 May 2012, Crown

SOURCE:  copy borrowed from a friend (but I have a Kindle copy)


gone GONE GIRL

On the morning of their fifth wedding anniversary, Nick’s wife, Amy, has disappeared. Nick is weak, Nick is a liar, and maybe he’s not the very best of husbands — but is he a killer? Amy’s diary reveals turmoil over their marriage, strange sicknesses, and her deep wish to be a mother — but is she telling the whole story? As the evidence slowly mounts, and the police investigation deepens, Nick is incriminated in horrible ways. He swears he didn’t murder his beautiful wife and goes on the offensive to clear his name. The mystery of Amy’s disappearance only gets more tangled as secrets unfurl from the web of their knotty marriage, and it becomes clear that something may have happened more disturbing than death.

[ Amazon ] [ Audible ] [ Barnes & Noble ] [ Google Books ]
[ Kindle ] [ Kobo ] [ Nook ] [ TBD ]


 gillianflynn Gillian Flynn is an American author and television critic for Entertainment Weekly. She has so far written three novels, Sharp Objects, for which she won the 2007 Ian Fleming Steel Dagger for the best thriller; Dark Places; and her best-selling third novel Gone Girl.

Her book has received wide praise, including from authors such as Stephen King. The dark plot revolves around a serial killer in a Missouri town, and the reporter who has returned from Chicago to cover the event. Themes include dysfunctional families,violence and self-harm.

[ Amazon ] [ Facebook ] [ Goodreads ]


 review  g1 g1 g1

THIS IS THE REASON WHY I DON’T LIKE SPOILERS.

 I GET SPOILED ABOUT THE ENDING OF A BOOK AND THE BOOK HAS NO THRILL FOR ME.

Okay, please keep the above sentence throughout the entire review. Thanks.

BUT THIS BOOK IS SSOOOOOOOO GOOD.

Okay, let’s write with the writing. BECAUSE GILLIAN FLYNN IS HELLA AWESOME.

Okay, I need all of her other books.

Gone Girl is written in Nick’s and Amy’s POV alternately in first person. And you can definitely hear their voices. ESPECIALLY AMY.

I don’t know how to explain that without spoiling anybody but yeah. AMY. Period.

The thing with this book is that writing won’t feel any special. It doesn’t have any special feel to it. BUT the words themselves will give you an explosive normal kind of rush of emotions. Basically unexplainable but that’s close enough to describing it.

Another way would be using the word: something in the writing but can we just agree that I’ve said that sentence too much?

When it comes to the characters, let me just straight out say that Nick is STUPID. Like, perpetually stupid.

And Amy is smart until she had this little accident she shouldn’t have fallen into because she’s smart but oh well. I connected to Amy in a very personal level. And when I say that, I mean that I connected to Amy. All aspects of her. She’s such a cutie in my opinion and maybe a lot of people will not describe her as such but who cares about other people’s opinion right now?

As this is considered mystery by, like, the entire world, I’ll judge it as so. And in my opinion, it’s not much of a mystery. Nothing in this book shocked or thrilled me in a way that mystery thrillers are supposed to. Not that that is such a surprise because it’s really hard for me to find a book that actually had me fumbling in the dark (it’s so sad, I feel empty so help me, if you’ve read really good mystery thrillers, throw it my way immediately.) Soooooo, yeah, the mystery aspect was such a disappointment for me.

But anywayyyssss

In the end, I liked this book. Yeah, I feel empty because (1) I was horribly spoiled about the mystery and (2) I did my best to keep the spoiler out of my head but it was just too obvious. 

BUT I LIKED THIS BOOK.

Plus, the quotes were very quotable. You gotta give it that.

Overall, Gone Girl was a cute read. It was funny, insane, and personally deep (for me). For real, Gillian Flynn is a magnificent human being to have written this book. I’m talking about the writing and the characters not the book itself. In the end, being honest could’ve saved you all the trouble you’re facing now but holding your ground with all the lies you made is fearless and strength in its own element. Life is not always good so be you whenever you can. It’s not bad to try out who you want to be but you can only be who you are. So live like that.

#Imnotmakingsenseanymoresobye

Leave a Reply

