Stop, Look, Read On: The Cupcake Witch by Poppy Lawless BLOG TOUR! [EXCERPT+GIVEAWAY+REVIEW!!]

THE CUPCAKE WITCH (The Witching Hour #9, a novella)
by Poppy Lawless

GENRE: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance, Supernatural

PAGESeARC, 70 pages

PUBLISHED: 2015, Love Potion Books

SOURCEeARC provided

ORGANISED BY: YA Bound Book Tours


 

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000026_00097] THE CUPCAKE WITCH (The Witching Hour #9, a novella)

Julie

Buttercream. Vanilla. Fondant. Dark chocolate. Brown sugar. Molasses. Baking has always been my true love, but it wasn’t until my mother’s death, and the unexpected inheritance of Serendipity Gardens, that my bliss called me. Bittersweet. But Serendipity Gardens has more to offer than just a potential shopfront. An unusual recipe box left to me by a distant relative might be the key to unlocking my dreams.

Too bad the most powerful family in Chancellor has plans that could turn those dreams to ruins—literally.

Too bad the son of that powerful family is just the kind of guy I’ve been looking for.

Horatio

I suppose being heir to the Hunter family’s Blushing Grape Winery should make me happy, but nothing could be further from the truth. With my mother gone, my father has taken me under his wing, and I despise everything about the way he does business. Sour grapes, indeed. Instead of raising money for charitable causes, my true passion, I’m chasing my father’s manifest destiny.

Too bad his dream includes paving paradise.

Too bad the property owner is the sweetest woman I’ve ever met.

[Amazon]

They say the course of true love never runs smooth. That’s nothing a magical cupcake can’t solve.

excerpt

Make A Wish Cake

I headed back to the kitchen, prepared the portabella and goat cheese pizza for Dad and myself, then pulled out a chair and started looking through the recipe cards. They had faded with age to a soft yellow color. There was an interesting smell effervescing off of them, like the mixed scents of vanilla and lavender. Mrs. Aster had left a trove of recipes: cakes, cookies, herbal teas, you name it. I pulled out all the recipes for sweets. There were at least fifty of them in the box. I thumbed through until I found a recipe for Make a Wish Cake. Well, I was definitely making a wish tonight. I skimmed through the ingredients. We had everything in the house. On the back, however, I spotted something unusual on the card. There seemed to be some kind of poem written alongside the recipe.

To get your wish. Over the batter recite:

Round three times you’ll see my way
Stir backward once protests away
Round three times more to receive
In one bite, they will believe.

I grinned. It seemed like Mrs. Aster was the superstitious type, or maybe she just had a good sense of humor. Suddenly, this distant relative was getting more interesting. I tapped the recipe card on the table. Chasing stars, Mom had called it. Well, tonight chasing stars seemed like a good way to go. I stuck the rest of the recipes back in the box and headed toward the fridge. Half an hour, and lots of molasses, flour, butter, lemon peel, and ground anise, later, the batter was ready. I mixed all the ingredients just as the instructions read, then pulled out the card, reciting the lines over the batter just as it said, my wooden spoon stirring in tandem.

Round three times you’ll see my way
Stir backward once protests away
Round three times more to receive
In one bite, they will believe.

As I stirred, the sharp scents of butter, lemon, and anise filled the kitchen with a heavenly aroma. And if I wasn’t perfectly sure that such a thing was impossible, I thought, for just a moment, that the batter had glowed with a golden shimmer, a glittery swirl of air sweeping up from the bowl. Weird.

The batter ready, I poured it into a cake pan. I then whipped up a little lemon curd buttercream frosting and set it in the fridge to cool. Then I sat down at the table and began drawing up a business plan. Over the course of the day, the vision of what I wanted to do with the place had jelled in my mind: tearoom, organic bakery, apothecary and other all-natural supplies. I could just see the old-fashioned glass case lined with my cupcakes and other treats. I could see the shelves filled with bottles of organic face creams and lotions. I could imagine little café tables in the greenhouse with tiered serving plates for high tea snacks. And in the summer, I’d plant cutting gardens in the yard. I loved the picture so much, and saw it so vividly, I could barely contain myself.

When the oven timer rang, I set my pad aside and rose, pulling the pan out of the oven just as Dad opened the back door. He was juggling his laptop and briefcase along with groceries.

Here,” I said, setting the cake on the oven beside the pizza to cool. I rushed over to help him.

Thanks,” he said, sighing heavily with relief. He set his stuff on the table while I started unloading the bags of groceries and stashing everything in the fridge. He’d bought all my favorite breakfast items: fresh multi-grain bread, capers, cream cheese, red onion, and arugula…the perfect breakfast food. I also pulled out pumpkin spice coffee creamer and my favorite brand of coffee from the bag.

How’d it go in Chancellor?” Dad asked absently.

Good, actually. I left you a message. Did you get it?”

Sorry, my ringer was turned off. Been swamped all day.”

I actually wanted to talk to you about the property.”

Uh-huh?” he mumbled, his mouth full of something.

Well, the property is really adorable. It’s got unique architecture. And it’s not just a shop. There is a living space in the back. It’s a mess, but it could be turned around. I was thinking,” I began, but when I looked back, I saw that Dad was holding the notepad on which I’d written my business plan. He was holding it in one hand while he stood over the cake pan with a fork in his other hand.

Dad!” I said with a laugh. “That’s hot. I just pulled it out of the oven. And it still needs frosting.”

My dad looked from the paper to me. “You want the property in Chancellor? For this?” he said, motioning to the notepad.

I nodded.

Dad took another bite of the cake then looked at the paper again.

I was thinking…I want to refurbish the greenhouse and set the place up like an old-fashioned apothecary. I’d sell teas, herbs, essential oils, and have baked goods made from organic ingredients. I was even thinking I could turn the greenhouse into a little tea garden. The shop on the inside, the tea garden in the greenhouse. I’d serve high teas, even let people reserve the space for bridal showers, things like that. I could live in the back. I have money saved up. I can make it work. I know I can. I’m a good baker, and I have a head for business, you and mom taught me so much. The property is right on Main among a bunch of cool boutiques, restaurants, and cafés. It’s a perfect fit.”

Green Earth Apothecary & SerendipiTEA Gardens,” my dad read from the business plan.

Yeah, Green Earth Apothecary…Gea, like a play on the Earth Goddess’ name. And I thought I’d use Mrs. Aster’s old business name, Serendipity Gardens, change it up a little and marry the two together.”

This is your wish?” my Dad asked, looking at the paper.

A chill went down my spine, and goosebumps rose on my skin. Wish? Dad took another bite of the cake as he looked at my business plan.

It is,” I whispered.

Then, done!” he said, raising the fork triumphantly. “Now, let me get out of my monkey suit, and let’s have some of that pizza! Wow, Jules, this cake is amazing…butter, lemon, and anise. Zap. Tastes fabulous. My daughter is the next Martha Stewart,” he said then wandered off, taking his fork with him.

I crossed the room and picked up the recipe card: Make a Wish Cake. Surely, it had to be a coincidence, right?


 

Julie Dayton _ Poppy Lawless Poppy Lawless

Romance author. Cupcake connoisseur. Certified herbalist. Beach bum. Fan of all things Starbucks. Holistic healing advocate. Surfer girl wanna-be. Lost guru. Maker of dandelion wine. Counselor. Paranormal buff. Etsy addict. Secretly Jedi. So not a geek girl. Gifted in sarcasm. Hot wife. Ninja mom. And now, I’m ready to share a whole head full of witty, mouthy, smart, lovely, heart-warming, and hot characters with the world. Are you ready? Poppy Lawless is the author of The Chancellor Fairy Tales. Poppy holds degrees in English and Psychology. She is a counselor in the field of mental health and is a trained herbalist. Poppy’s new series blends the best of romance with a Practical Magic or contemporary Bewitched appeal.

[Amazon] [Facebook] [Goodreads] [Newsletter] [Twitter]


review

g1 g1 g1 g

Okay, I didn’t know that this is a novella. I mean, it has a cute cover and title and I know they say you shouldn’t judge a book by those but I did so here we are. AND I DIDN’T KNOW THAT THIS IS A NOVELLA.

I mean, it was too short. I need more. I need to read the entire series NOW.

Okay, I’m in a hurry so I’ll get to the point. (How many times do I say that??) 

The cupcake Witch is adorable, and mega fast paced. I mean, who loves insta-love with no chemistry whatsoever?? Okay, they’re cute and I get it, they’re both beautiful and they’re cute together but puh-lease. The pace of the romance was ridiculous. But as I said, they’re cute together in a no-brainer kinda way. Don’t think, just fall kinda way.

The writing, on the other hand, had too much similarity between the two of them. Okay, this is written in Julie’s and Horatio’s POV in first person alternately. Now, there’s little difference between the voice of Julie and the voice of Horatio. Actually, I thought the second chapter was in Julie’s POV. I mean, I read Horatio but who would have thought that’s a name??? ALSO, they have a very similar family background. UHM, DIVERSITY PLEASE? Because for real, if they both talk about their dead mothers inside their heads and trying to convince their fathers one way or another, who wouldn’t be confused????? A few similarities between the two MCs would be cute but not when they’re basically the same person.

Well anyway, aside from the major flaw in the characterisation of Julie and Horatio, this book is cute in 9583062 levels. I love baking books. I mean, I don’t know how to bake (for the lack of oven everywhere I live) but I’m positive I’ll love it and so I love MCs who love baking. They are usually strong-willed and self-made women and how could you not love those kinds of people??? Julie does not disappoint in that part. She’s a great baker and enjoys what she’s doing and finally had the strength and courage to do what she loves instead of what her mother wants for her. And spoiler alert, Horatio went through a similar character development. I swear, they’re too similar!

This is a really short read (read in, what, 30 minutes ??) and because of that, the pace is really fast. Like, real fast. Things that make all the pieces fall into their right places just appear out of nowhere like a cute little mushroom and viola, plot made, living happily ever after.

OVERALL, with the cute writing, all is well but the extreme similarity between Julie and Horatio kinda ruins everything. Romance is not about finding your twin, it’s about that finding peace with someone you’re way different from. Anyway, while I don’t see HEA between the two, I see HEA for GEA&SG (that name’s too long !). And the entire Chancellor underground witch network. I mean, life is not about looking for the place where you belong. It’s about giving up and letting yourself fall right where you belong. You will not find what you’re looking for or chasing after because, how can you be so sure that that is your destiny? Unless you’re a hundred and twelve percent in for everything that life will throw to you just for this thing that you love and so sure on doing, you’re probably traveling the wrong road. Sometimes, you have to take a step back and think of you. In the end, it;s your life. You have to make the choices that will make you happy. ❤

follow tour

giveaway

LOOK AT THAT (CUP)CAKE PACKAGE! 

entergiveaway


YA Bounk Tour button

One thought on “Stop, Look, Read On: The Cupcake Witch by Poppy Lawless BLOG TOUR! [EXCERPT+GIVEAWAY+REVIEW!!]

Leave a Reply

