Here’s To: The Duality Bridge by Susan Kaye Quinn

THE DUALITY BRIDGE (Singularity #2)
by Susan Kaye Quinn

GENRE: Dystopia, Science Fiction, Young Adult

PAGES: (Paperback, 426 pages)

PUBLISHED: 13 Aug 2015

SOURCE: ecopy given by the author in exchange for an honest review


25181811 THE DUALITY BRIDGE (Singularity #2)

What does it mean to be human?

Elijah Brighton is the face of the Human Resistance Movement. He’s the Olympic-level painter who refused an offer of immortality from the ascenders—the human/machine hybrids who run the world—in solidarity with the legacy humans who will never get a chance to live forever.

Too bad it’s all a complicated web of lies.

Worse, Eli’s not even entirely human. Few know about the ascenders’ genetic experiments that left him… different. Fewer know about the unearthly fugue state that creates his transcendent art—as well as a bridge that lets him speak to the dead. But the Resistance is the one place he can hide from the ascender who knows everything the fugue can do. Because if Marcus finds him, he’ll either use Eli for his own nefarious purposes… or destroy him once and for all.

The Duality Bridge is the second book in the Singularity series and the sequel to The Legacy Human. This thrilling new young adult science fiction series explores the intersection of mind, body, and soul in a post-Singularity world.

[ Amazon ] [ Barnes and Noble ] [ Kindle ] [ GET BOTH BOOKS FOR $7.98! ]


4094557 Susan Kaye Quinn

Susan Kaye Quinn grew up in California, where she wrote snippets of stories and passed them to her friends during class. Her teachers pretended not to notice and only confiscated her stories a couple times. Susan left writing behind to pursue a bunch of engineering degrees, but she was drawn back to writing by an irresistible urge to share her stories with her niece, her kids, and all the wonderful friends she’s met along the way. She doesn’t have to sneak her notes anymore, which is too bad.

Susan writes from the Chicago suburbs with her three boys, two cats, and one husband. Which, it turns out, is exactly as a much as she can handle.

Amazon ] [ Facebook ] [ Goodreads ] [ Pinterest ] [ Tumlr ] [ Twitter ]


review

g1 g1g1g1 g

(This review was first uploaded on Goodreads)

Okay I just want to say that Eli’s attachment to Lenora wasn’t as disgusting as I remember.
I’d leave it at that because I don’t want to spoil anybody.

But seriously, was he that obsessed with her? I thought I remembered him as subtly crushing on her and actually trying to deny his crush and now he’s… I just… I can’t…

And also that my favourite person – which is Cyrus – didn’t get much screentime, and so I’m shifting from Cyrus to Master.
(okay no not really)

BUT THE CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Eli was definitely a different person from TLH to chapter 1 to chapter 15 to the last chapter. Okay, I don’t even know how many chapters there are because all I remember was being on chapter one then I didn’t even realise I was already halfway through since I felt like I was only three chapters deep. Everything happened so fast, my mind can’t even.

This book is scary on one level, and terrifying on the other. If you think that TLH was mindblowing, well well well, we should’ve known that Susan can do hella better than that.
LIKE SERIOUSLY – THIS IS BLOWING MY MIND IN WAYS I NEVER THOUGHT POSSIBLE.

The romance was okay, and I like how it’s playing off. As long as we don’t stay much in it because I kinda don’t ship them… And yes, I’m not only talking about Bash and Cy here. (For real, I don’t like Basha HELP ME like, for Cyrus’s sake, I WANT to like her BUT SHE’S SO FREAKING ANNOYING I JUST DEAL WITH HER.)

Anyway, TDB involved a lot more action and surprises than TLH. Although I should say that I really don’t like this part about sci-fis/fantasies. Yes, I’m talking about:

 I’m not special. Stop it!! I’m normal. No! I’m nothing special. GOODNESS GRACIOUS I JUST WANT TO BE NORMAL. Okay fine look I can do things that are not normal for people but please stop telling me I am the only one who can save the world. OKAY FINE I WILL SAVE THE WORLD YOU USELESS PEOPLE WHO KEPT SECRETS FROM ME IN MY ENTIRE SEVENTEEN YEARS OF EXISTENCE. You guys started this mess and you expected me to clean up. SERIOUSLY??? Haha no I’m just your ordinary Joe tryna make it to my afternoon date.

YES THAT. I don’t appreciate that. Not anywhere.

But that doesn’t stop this book from being so mind-bending.

Also, a recurring thought in my head was: Good thing I never had to write this. This is too amazing and beyond my capabilities. This is so magnificent someone take this book away from me the world doesn’t deserve this. Oooh what if this is told in Kamina’s POV *constantly thinks of the book in her POV*

ALSO I AM NOT IN RUSH FOR THE THIRD BOOK BUT IT WOULD BE NICE IF IT CAME OUT TODAY, THANKS.

P.S. Yes, this book or earc have been in my possession and tbr list for like an eternity and a half, I know.

P.P.S. I don’t even know if this is an earc or already edited version. It’s been that long in my possession.

Leave a Reply

